The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 03, 2011, 02:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 56
R1 is on 1B.

F1 is right handed.

F1 goes into the stretch with ball in right hand and glove hand on his front leg.

F1 comes to the set position and stops with both hands in front of him.
----- Free and Pivot Foot approx a foot apart.
----- Back to the runner on 1B
----- Perpendicular to the batter.

F1 steps straight backwards (Towards 1B) with hit free foot.

F1 kicks leg forward and continues the pitch to the plate.

Last edited by Coach Dykhoff; Tue May 03, 2011 at 02:31pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 03, 2011, 02:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coach Dykhoff View Post
R1 is on 1B.

F1 is right handed.

F1 goes into the stretch with ball in right hand and glove hand on his front leg.

F1 comes to the set position and stops with both hands in front of him.
----- Free and Pivot Foot approx a foot apart.
----- Back to the runner on 1B
----- Perpendicular to the batter.

F1 steps straight backwards (Towards 1B) with hit free foot.

F1 kicks leg forward and continues the pitch to the plate.
Based on just that, I have nothing. What rule (in the windup section) do you think he broke? "Free" can include where it sounds like his foot was.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 03, 2011, 02:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
Based on just that, I have nothing. What rule (in the windup section) do you think he broke? "Free" can include where it sounds like his foot was.
Mike, I'm reading this F1 as starting in the set, not the windup. That would make more sense with a runner on.

I could be wrong: F1 cannot both be "perpendicular to the batter" (sounds like he's facing the batter in the windup) and have "his back to the runner at 1B" (sounds like he's facing 3B in the set).
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 03, 2011, 02:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
Mike, I'm reading this F1 as starting in the set, not the windup. That would make more sense with a runner on.

I could be wrong: F1 cannot both be "perpendicular to the batter" (sounds like he's facing the batter in the windup) and have "his back to the runner at 1B" (sounds like he's facing 3B in the set).
With the pitcher stepping back, this HAS to be a windup... so compare his actions to that rule to determine if he broke one.

Imagine pitcher with feet appearing to face 3rd, but the body facing home... could that not be "facing the batter"?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 03, 2011, 02:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
With the pitcher stepping back, this HAS to be a windup... so compare his actions to that rule to determine if he broke one.

Imagine pitcher with feet appearing to face 3rd, but the body facing home... could that not be "facing the batter"?
As you know, what he does during the pitching motion does not determine whether he's in the windup or the set. It's strictly the position of his feet when he takes the rubber.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 03, 2011, 03:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 56
The two parts of the rules that I feel make this a balk are:

1) When he steps back while in the set position it is toward first base which makes this a balk.

2) When he steps back while in the set position he is bringing his free foot off the ground to step back (Not going to the plate but doing a windup) which makes this a balk.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 03, 2011, 03:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coach Dykhoff View Post
The two parts of the rules that I feel make this a balk are:

1) When he steps back while in the set position it is toward first base which makes this a balk.

2) When he steps back while in the set position he is bringing his free foot off the ground to step back (Not going to the plate but doing a windup) which makes this a balk.
Both of these say, "While in the set position".

What part of the "Windup position" rule has he broken? MByron is envisioning the initial foot setup as the problem. In my head, I'm not - but I might not be envisioning exactly what this kid did. It's very HTBT.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 03, 2011, 02:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
Mike, I'm reading this F1 as starting in the set, not the windup. That would make more sense with a runner on.

I could be wrong: F1 cannot both be "perpendicular to the batter" (sounds like he's facing the batter in the windup) and have "his back to the runner at 1B" (sounds like he's facing 3B in the set).
We will say parallel then.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 03, 2011, 02:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coach Dykhoff View Post

F1 steps straight backwards (Towards 1B) with hit free foot.

F1 kicks leg forward and continues the pitch to the plate.
Assuming he started with his feet in the set position, this is a balk for stepping toward 1B without throwing.

I do not know LL rules, so if this is LL you'll have to check with those guys.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 03, 2011, 02:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
Assuming he started with his feet in the set position, this is a balk for stepping toward 1B without throwing.

I do not know LL rules, so if this is LL you'll have to check with those guys.
Consider this to be the windup (albeit unorthodox) position ... we've all seen the backward step on a windup go further toward 1st than 2nd. I still see nothing wrong here, at least as I'm visualizing.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 03, 2011, 05:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
Assuming he started with his feet in the set position, this is a balk for stepping toward 1B without throwing.

I do not know LL rules, so if this is LL you'll have to check with those guys.
LL

Not a balk in 12 and under divisions

Is a balk in the 13 and up divisions.

BECAUSE - with the runners locked on base until the pitch reaches the batter in 12U there's really no advantage gained by a pitcher.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 03, 2011, 05:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
LL

Not a balk in 12 and under divisions

Is a balk in the 13 and up divisions.

BECAUSE - with the runners locked on base until the pitch reaches the batter in 12U there's really no advantage gained by a pitcher.
{Dreaming} Why can't LL, USSSA, etc get together and standardize? {/Dreaming}

I was shocked that 9U USSSA was leading off a few weekends ago. It's nuts. If a runner gets on first, they should just place him on third because in two pitches he is there anyways

-Josh
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 03, 2011, 05:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 770
No free foot limitation in pure OBR anymore.

Just google Cliff Lee or JP Howell to see this as a legal in OBR. As long as the pitcher doesn't stretch to a stop he can windup or not from this foot position that looks like the set.
If you would balk this backward step to first in the OP would you balk a normal windup stepping back to 2B with R2 and R3?
However, these kids are headed to FED so you might as well stop it now.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 03, 2011, 05:39pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Perhaps someone should take the young lad aside and instruct him as to the proper way to arrive at the set position, and what his legal options are from that point.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 03, 2011, 05:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by umpjim View Post
No free foot limitation in pure OBR anymore.

Just google Cliff Lee or JP Howell to see this as a legal in OBR. As long as the pitcher doesn't stretch to a stop he can windup or not from this foot position that looks like the set.
Citation please. It's illegal by rule but ignored in MLB, like not stopping from the set with no runners on.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 man positions Terrapins Fan Basketball 9 Sun Jan 09, 2011 10:02am
Windup BigUmp56 Baseball 5 Thu Apr 27, 2006 08:47am
Positions B and C O.T.Hill Baseball 79 Thu Mar 30, 2006 04:11pm
Windup in FED Cubbies87 Baseball 9 Mon Jul 26, 2004 10:55pm
time out positions John Schaefferkoetter Basketball 7 Tue Nov 04, 2003 03:38am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:10am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1