![]() |
|
|
|||
In FED: You would score the run on interference (delayed dead-ball), but the issue that comes up is the ejection. If you are ejecting R1 for contact with F2, then it is most likely Malicious Contact. In case, there is an immediate dead-ball and R1 is ejected, no run scores.
Seems like it is a HTBT. If R1 stumbled around F1 and fell into F2: INT, +1 run, 0 outs. If R1 moved around F1 and ran into F2 then: most likely MC, EJ-R1, +1 out, 0 runs.
__________________
Ump Rube ----------------------------------------------------- Ump (uhmp) shorted form; an official in a sport who rules on plays. Rube (roob) slang; sports fan who listens to KFAN in Minneapolis, MN. |
|
|||
There are four possible outcomes to this play.
1. Train wreck: everyone is doing what he should be, throw pulls catcher into runner's path as he tries to avoid contact. Ruling: play the bounce. 2. Obstruction: catcher (or any fielder) sets up in the base path denying access to the base without the ball. The runner must still slide or try to avoid contact with the fielder. Ruling: delayed dead ball until end of playing action, award runner home. 3. Interference: runner fails to slide or try to avoid contact with fielder, but the contact is not severe enough to be malicious contact. Ruling: immediate dead ball, runner is out whether or not he scores on the play. 4. Malicious contact: runner crashes the catcher intentionally. Ruling: immediate dead ball, runner is out (if he didn't score first) and ejected. Which of these applies is, of course, umpire judgment. It's difficult to assess anyone's ruling on a play without seeing the play. That said, obstruction and malicious contact could conceivably be combined here, if one fielder obstructed the runner, who subsequently maliciously contacted a different fielder. That's apparently what the umpires ruled. However, I would not have made the award they did: malicious contact by rule supersedes obstruction, and the runner should have been called out if the MC occurred before he scored, in addition to being ejected. We had another thread recently with both MC and OBS, but the difference was that in that case the MC was not caused by the obstructed runner (the batter was obstructed, and R3 committed the MC). In that case, I argued for enforcing both penalties against the different runners. In this case, it's the same runner tangling with different fielders. Given that it's the same runner, I believe that the principle that "malicious contact supersedes obstruction" applies: being obstructed does not give the runner the right to crash the catcher.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Under Fed rules, I was under the impression that this type of play should be ruled obstruction. Am I mistaken?
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
It could be OBS and could be a train wreck. IT's more likely to be OBS under FED than under other codes, though.
|
|
|||
Quote:
But I think that the implication of the ruling of the following play is that F2 may be in the baseline if the throw draws him there. I've highlighted the relevant passage. 8.3.2 SITUATION I: R1 is attempting to score from third and F8 throws the ball to F2. F2 is four or five feet down the line between home and third, but is not actually able to catch the ball in order to make the tag. R1, rather than running into F2, slides behind F2 into foul territory and then touches home plate with his hand. After R1 slides, F2 catches the ball and attempts to tag R1 but misses. The coach of the offensive team coaching at third base claims that obstruction should have been called even though there was no contact. RULING: Obstruction. Contact does not have to occur for obstruction to be ruled. F2 cannot be in the baseline without the ball if it is not in motion and a probable play is not going to occur, nor can he be in the baseline without giving the runner access to home plate. As I read this play (a lot of negatives in that one clause!), it conflicts with 8.3.2 SITUATION K: if F2 is never permitted in the baseline without the ball (as seems to be the principle of Sit. K), then what is the point of this clause? The only interpretation that makes sense is that we're not to rule OBS when the throw takes F2 up the line. I'm not sure what to make of this apparent conflict.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
My take is that if the action "denies access to the base" then it's OBS, if it doesn't, then it isn't.
No, I don't like the rule. ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
What's goofy is that the point of Sit. I seems to be that you can have OBS without contact. So non-contact denies access to the base? That ruling seems to me to go back to the language of "hindering" the runner, rather than denying access. I agree that we should have a lower bar for OBS in FED-ball than non-FED. I'm just not sure on what basis to determine when contact constitutes OBS, consistent with these 2 case plays.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
What don't you like about it? A pitcher has no business in the baseline 2' in front of catcher who is 4' from base nad neither has the ball. There is an OBS rule in OBR.
|
|
|||
Quote:
I agree that as described in the OP, F1 was guilty of OBS, and that would be the same in all codes, and that I "like" this portion of the rule. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Collision in the Key | iref4him | Basketball | 10 | Thu Jan 06, 2011 12:39pm |
Collision at the plate | ToGreySt | Baseball | 2 | Tue Jun 13, 2006 01:30pm |
F2/R1 collision or is it obs? | chas | Softball | 4 | Thu Mar 24, 2005 09:08am |
Collision w/ players | gostars | Basketball | 11 | Sat Jan 29, 2005 11:45am |
Collision at first | SF | Softball | 2 | Sun Oct 03, 2004 07:55pm |