![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
But I think that the implication of the ruling of the following play is that F2 may be in the baseline if the throw draws him there. I've highlighted the relevant passage. 8.3.2 SITUATION I: R1 is attempting to score from third and F8 throws the ball to F2. F2 is four or five feet down the line between home and third, but is not actually able to catch the ball in order to make the tag. R1, rather than running into F2, slides behind F2 into foul territory and then touches home plate with his hand. After R1 slides, F2 catches the ball and attempts to tag R1 but misses. The coach of the offensive team coaching at third base claims that obstruction should have been called even though there was no contact. RULING: Obstruction. Contact does not have to occur for obstruction to be ruled. F2 cannot be in the baseline without the ball if it is not in motion and a probable play is not going to occur, nor can he be in the baseline without giving the runner access to home plate. As I read this play (a lot of negatives in that one clause!), it conflicts with 8.3.2 SITUATION K: if F2 is never permitted in the baseline without the ball (as seems to be the principle of Sit. K), then what is the point of this clause? The only interpretation that makes sense is that we're not to rule OBS when the throw takes F2 up the line. I'm not sure what to make of this apparent conflict.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Collision in the Key | iref4him | Basketball | 10 | Thu Jan 06, 2011 12:39pm |
Collision at the plate | ToGreySt | Baseball | 2 | Tue Jun 13, 2006 01:30pm |
F2/R1 collision or is it obs? | chas | Softball | 4 | Thu Mar 24, 2005 09:08am |
Collision w/ players | gostars | Basketball | 11 | Sat Jan 29, 2005 11:45am |
Collision at first | SF | Softball | 2 | Sun Oct 03, 2004 07:55pm |