The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 3.67 average. Display Modes
Old Sat Mar 26, 2011, 08:57pm
Official Forum Member

NCAA DH Rule

Gentleman-

I don't think I'm delusional but I believe I'm a pretty intelligent guy (maybe the jury is still out on that one). I'm an accomplished chemist and a successful high school baseball and basketball sports official. I got the opportunity last fall to "try out" to be a collegiate baseball umpire. I was fortunate enough to get the nod so I'll be working my first season this spring. I quickly bought a NCAA rules study guide to add to my collection of reference books (ie BRD, J/R, etc).

Nonetheless, I cannot wrap my mind around the NCAA DH rule. I asked two veteran college umpires and they both said, "just carry a copy of the DH rule with you and refer to it if needed". Is there any trick anyone has found to help one learn this rule? I like knowing the rules and this is driving me nuts that I cannot learn this one.

-Josh
Old Sat Mar 26, 2011, 09:10pm
Official Forum Member

It is easily the most complicated rule.

Just know the most common occurrences -- the P is often also a good hitter, so the coach want him to be P/DH. So, you can go from a 9-person line-up to a 10-person lineup.

There is an "offensve role" and a "defensive role" -- keep those separate, and recongnize that the same player/person can fil both roles, but treat them as two separate "positions" and you should be okay.
Old Sat Mar 26, 2011, 09:24pm
Official Forum Member

To piggyback on

+1 with Bob's advice.

To learn the DH rule you have to break it down into it's component parts in the rule book. Take your time, and work hard on each section until your clearly understand it. Flowchart it, or set up a series of if/then statements like you are writing a computer program in BASIC. You'll get the rule if you work on it.