![]() |
|
|||
|
Because 1B was the base he safely occupied at the time of the pitch. The same base that he is obligated to retouch even after the ball goes into DBT. It's a continuous action play. I see what you're saying...you're arguing that F8's "play" is throwing the ball to 1B, threw the ball out of play so the defense gives up their chance to appeal again because that was a play.
I understand your thinking, but I disagree. I think this deals with what J/R calls continuous action. Here's a portion of J/R that I think applies to your scenario: (d) any appeal throw made after continuous action has ended does not become an overthrow. If continuous action ends and the defense overthrows trying to appeal some runner at EG: a base, a subsequent appeal on any runner at any base cannot be upheld. [NCAA8-6-b-5-b, 8-6-b-6] [NCAA5-4, 5- 4-a, 5-4-c Pen] [NFHS8-2 Pen., 2.29.6b]
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Appeal Play question | justcallmeblue | Softball | 18 | Wed Jul 21, 2010 10:14am |
| NCAA Rule change? - Question #57 NCAA Test | ljudge | Football | 2 | Wed Jun 04, 2008 10:21am |
| What Rule Governs this play in NCAA? | jimpiano | Football | 5 | Wed Oct 03, 2007 11:53pm |
| USSSA Appeal Rule Question | Bandit | Softball | 1 | Tue Aug 21, 2007 09:31am |
| NCAA Force Play Slide Rule | Randallump | Baseball | 6 | Sat Apr 21, 2001 07:15pm |