The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 12, 2011, 07:55pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
Because 1B was the base he safely occupied at the time of the pitch. The same base that he is obligated to retouch even after the ball goes into DBT. It's a continuous action play. I see what you're saying...you're arguing that F8's "play" is throwing the ball to 1B, threw the ball out of play so the defense gives up their chance to appeal again because that was a play.

I understand your thinking, but I disagree. I think this deals with what J/R calls continuous action. Here's a portion of J/R that I think applies to your scenario:

(d) any appeal throw made after continuous action has ended does not become an overthrow. If continuous action ends and the defense overthrows trying to appeal some runner at
EG:
a base, a subsequent appeal on any runner at any base cannot be upheld. [NCAA8-6-b-5-b, 8-6-b-6] [NCAA5-4, 5- 4-a, 5-4-c Pen] [NFHS8-2 Pen., 2.29.6b]
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Appeal Play question justcallmeblue Softball 18 Wed Jul 21, 2010 10:14am
NCAA Rule change? - Question #57 NCAA Test ljudge Football 2 Wed Jun 04, 2008 10:21am
What Rule Governs this play in NCAA? jimpiano Football 5 Wed Oct 03, 2007 11:53pm
USSSA Appeal Rule Question Bandit Softball 1 Tue Aug 21, 2007 09:31am
NCAA Force Play Slide Rule Randallump Baseball 6 Sat Apr 21, 2001 07:15pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1