The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 14, 2011, 02:12pm
ODJ ODJ is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 390
If R2 heads for 3rd, and changing his mind, returns to 2nd.
BR heads for 2nd after seeing R2 running for 3rd. BR looks to RF to locate ball, cruises into 2nd to find R2 there.

Would you have R2 out?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 14, 2011, 02:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by ODJ View Post
If R2 heads for 3rd, and changing his mind, returns to 2nd.
BR heads for 2nd after seeing R2 running for 3rd. BR looks to RF to locate ball, cruises into 2nd to find R2 there.

Would you have R2 out?
Unless forced, the base belongs to the lead runner. So, I don't see anyway to have R2 out in this play (given that he's not tagged until he's back at second). Either BR is out, or BR is at second and R2 is advanced to third.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 14, 2011, 06:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by ODJ View Post
If R2 heads for 3rd, and changing his mind, returns to 2nd.
BR heads for 2nd after seeing R2 running for 3rd. BR looks to RF to locate ball, cruises into 2nd to find R2 there.

Would you have R2 out?
Nobody's out until somebody's tagged. If they're both on the base and both are tagged, then BR is out, since the base belongs to R2 until he's forced to advance (as in a force play -- BR's presence by itself does not force R2 to advance).
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 16, 2011, 03:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Washington State
Posts: 209
Mechanics?

So, in two man mechanics, do we see this?
During the play
Plate Umpire: Indicates obstruction, does not call time.

On the tag of B/R:
Field Umpire: Out signal

Seeing action has stopped:
Plate Umpire: Time! Obstruction at first base, you, second base!

Field Umpire: On the tag, you're out!
Or should the Plate Umpire make just eat the earlier acknowledgement of obstruction?
__________________
-LilLeaguer
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 16, 2011, 06:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NY state
Posts: 1,504
Too much went on in front of too many witnesses for BU to ignore his call.

Assuming that all this occured in a day game, and guessing that at least one coach is going to want an explanation:

After play has ended BU and PU get together and discuss what they have and get on the same page. As they break up they announce what they have: obstruction, batter/runner protected to the touch of second, batter/runner out on the tag - two runners on same base - and get ready to eject somebody.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 16, 2011, 07:52pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
I thought we were only protecting him to 1B? Maybe we weren't unanimous on that.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 16, 2011, 08:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Washington State
Posts: 209
Protection

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyg08 View Post
I thought we were only protecting him to 1B? Maybe we weren't unanimous on that.
Well, we do agree that B/R is liable to be tagged out at 2B.

I may have split the responsibilities too fine. In a normal delayed obstruction, Plate Umpire can place the obstructed B/R after calling time. In this case, he may not know why R2 is still on 2B, but he should be able to see him there.

But, taking MrUmpire's suggestion, perhaps the umpires should huddle before "placing the runners." (Of course, after that huddle, B/R will still be called out.)

I just hate to have a huddle after calling obstruction but before resolving the call. But, given this 3rd world play, perhaps that is unavoidable. As is the ensuing discussion with the offensive manager.
__________________
-LilLeaguer
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 16, 2011, 10:14pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
Quote:
Originally Posted by LilLeaguer View Post
Well, we do agree that B/R is liable to be tagged out at 2B.

I may have split the responsibilities too fine. In a normal delayed obstruction, Plate Umpire can place the obstructed B/R after calling time. In this case, he may not know why R2 is still on 2B, but he should be able to see him there.

But, taking MrUmpire's suggestion, perhaps the umpires should huddle before "placing the runners." (Of course, after that huddle, B/R will still be called out.)

I just hate to have a huddle after calling obstruction but before resolving the call. But, given this 3rd world play, perhaps that is unavoidable. As is the ensuing discussion with the offensive manager.
Huddles aren't always bad. It's a brave new world out there.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 16, 2011, 08:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NY state
Posts: 1,504
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyg08 View Post
I thought we were only protecting him to 1B? Maybe we weren't unanimous on that.
Does it matter? He's out at second.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 16, 2011, 10:13pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
You're right, it doesn't...unless there's a protest, you might want to explain yourself correctly. But I agree with you. When I initially replied on this, I protected him to 2B, then called him out. But after talking about it w/ others, I changed my thought to only protect to 1B...the benefits of being able to change your mind on a forum, not a field.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 22, 2011, 05:03pm
JJ JJ is offline
Veteran College Umpire
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: IN
Posts: 1,122
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrUmpire View Post
Does it matter? He's out at second.
Unless you're protecting him to second - then the runner on second is "forced" to go to third. And we start this discussion all over again

JJ
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 22, 2011, 02:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NorCal
Posts: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by LilLeaguer View Post
So, in two man mechanics, do we see this?
During the play
Plate Umpire: Indicates obstruction, does not call time.

On the tag of B/R:
Field Umpire: Out signal

Seeing action has stopped:
Plate Umpire: Time! Obstruction at first base, you, second base!

Field Umpire: On the tag, you're out!
Or should the Plate Umpire make just eat the earlier acknowledgement of obstruction?
This is not the Plate umpires call...and should not call OBS..
__________________
"My greatest fear is that when I die, my wife will sell my golf clubs for what I told her I paid for them."
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 14, 2011, 05:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by ODJ View Post
If R2 heads for 3rd, and changing his mind, returns to 2nd.
BR heads for 2nd after seeing R2 running for 3rd. BR looks to RF to locate ball, cruises into 2nd to find R2 there.

Would you have R2 out?
Absolutely... why wouldn't he be?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
infeild fly, call/no call canump Softball 15 Sat Oct 18, 2008 11:49am
ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection DaveASA/FED Softball 28 Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm
To call or not to call foul ball DaveASA/FED Softball 11 Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am
More Pacers/Pistons call/no call OverAndBack Basketball 36 Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm
Does one call relate to the last call? Tee Basketball 28 Thu Feb 13, 2003 05:53pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:21am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1