The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 16, 2011, 08:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NY state
Posts: 1,504
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyg08 View Post
I thought we were only protecting him to 1B? Maybe we weren't unanimous on that.
Does it matter? He's out at second.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 16, 2011, 10:13pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
You're right, it doesn't...unless there's a protest, you might want to explain yourself correctly. But I agree with you. When I initially replied on this, I protected him to 2B, then called him out. But after talking about it w/ others, I changed my thought to only protect to 1B...the benefits of being able to change your mind on a forum, not a field.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 22, 2011, 05:03pm
JJ JJ is offline
Veteran College Umpire
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: IN
Posts: 1,122
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrUmpire View Post
Does it matter? He's out at second.
Unless you're protecting him to second - then the runner on second is "forced" to go to third. And we start this discussion all over again

JJ
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 08, 2011, 10:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

I'm a little late to this party, but, as the OP is presented, I've got the BR out at 2B when both he and the R2 are tagged while they are both standing on 2B.

The remedy for "Type B" obstruction in OBR is to "nullify the act of obstruction".

So, what would have (likely) happened if the BR had NOT been obstructed?

He would have reached 2B a couple of steps sooner and been tagged while touching a base that offered him no protection (since it was legally occupied by the R2).

Since the obstruction had no bearing on the R2 remaining on 2B, the BR is still out, despite the obstruction.

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
infeild fly, call/no call canump Softball 15 Sat Oct 18, 2008 11:49am
ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection DaveASA/FED Softball 28 Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm
To call or not to call foul ball DaveASA/FED Softball 11 Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am
More Pacers/Pistons call/no call OverAndBack Basketball 36 Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm
Does one call relate to the last call? Tee Basketball 28 Thu Feb 13, 2003 05:53pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:03pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1