The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 16, 2011, 10:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 91
How about FED ruling? 7-4-1e "an attempt to bunt on thrird strike is a foul." Same play mentioned in OP but following FED you have an out with dead ball... Some of us still doing HS but always trying to learn.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 16, 2011, 11:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by pastordoug View Post
How about FED ruling? 7-4-1e "an attempt to bunt on thrird strike is a foul." Same play mentioned in OP but following FED you have an out with dead ball... Some of us still doing HS but always trying to learn.
7-4-1-e says it's an out for bunting foul on the third strike

and 5-1-1-d-3 says it becomes dead if it becomes an UNCAUGHT foul
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 17, 2011, 08:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,253
This rule is the same in all codes. The batter is out, the ball remains live, runners can attempt to advance, they are subject to appeal if they don't retouch after the ball is touched, ...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 18, 2011, 02:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 755
Quote:
Originally Posted by pastordoug View Post
How about FED ruling? 7-4-1e "an attempt to bunt on thrird strike is a foul." Same play mentioned in OP but following FED you have an out with dead ball... Some of us still doing HS but always trying to learn.
How about this from the Fed Case Book:

2.16.1 COMMENT: Determining when the ball becomes dead on a foul is sometimes tricky. With R1 on second and no one out, consider the following: (1) An attempted bunt on third strike by B2 is a foul fly that is caught by F2. B2 would have been out without the catch, but because of the catch, F1 is not credited with a strikeout and R1 may attempt to advance after the catch.

I think we've thorougly beat this horse dead... in all rule codes.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bunt foul with 2 strikes, running bobbrix Softball 3 Wed May 23, 2007 07:59am
Batter runs to 1B on 2 Strikes bigsig Softball 12 Mon Oct 23, 2006 02:46pm
(Slap?)Bunt Foul w/ 2 Strikes mach3 Softball 2 Fri May 09, 2003 06:51pm
Was it a bunt, or a swing with 2 strikes Del-Blue Softball 11 Wed Apr 23, 2003 12:21pm
Balls / Strikes - Talking to F2 or Batter PeteBooth Baseball 2 Wed Sep 06, 2000 10:53pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1