The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 31, 2010, 08:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 480
Hypothetically, what would happen if a player (already scored) pushes a player back toward home plate, then realizes his mistake and tackles him, thus preventing him from retouching? Would that then necessitate an appeal for a missed base from the defense since the offensive player didnt actually assist the player?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 31, 2010, 08:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,577
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbmartin View Post
Hypothetically, what would happen if a player (already scored) pushes a player back toward home plate, then realizes his mistake and tackles him, thus preventing him from retouching?
I'm pretty sure that's a 10-yard penalty from the spot of the foul, and loss of down.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 31, 2010, 08:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 755
J/R states that "a player who had been a runner but has touched home and is signaling to a following runner" is considered "another teammate." However, in the two situations given (Section VI), this scenario isn't listed, simply because no "play" was being made on the runner.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1