The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 30, 2010, 07:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: illinois
Posts: 251
The NCAA rulebook has the similar wording, but in reviewing the 2009 Study Guide for NCAA that is put out by Referee magazine they have this rule interpreted as a base coach or another runner physically assisting him being grounds for an out. An e-mail has been sent for clarification since there is no interp citation of either a NCAA rules person nor a cite that it comes from MLB.
Will post (or JJ will) when an answer comes in. This is interesting since according to the study guide another base runner cannot physically assist while on the base paths. Hopefully this is not the authors own interp and we can track down the origin. Otherwise we are still where we are now........ Its unusual that an interp in this book is not cited by either a NCAA person or MLB.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 31, 2010, 08:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 480
Hypothetically, what would happen if a player (already scored) pushes a player back toward home plate, then realizes his mistake and tackles him, thus preventing him from retouching? Would that then necessitate an appeal for a missed base from the defense since the offensive player didnt actually assist the player?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 31, 2010, 08:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,577
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbmartin View Post
Hypothetically, what would happen if a player (already scored) pushes a player back toward home plate, then realizes his mistake and tackles him, thus preventing him from retouching?
I'm pretty sure that's a 10-yard penalty from the spot of the foul, and loss of down.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 31, 2010, 08:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 755
J/R states that "a player who had been a runner but has touched home and is signaling to a following runner" is considered "another teammate." However, in the two situations given (Section VI), this scenario isn't listed, simply because no "play" was being made on the runner.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 01, 2010, 09:18am
JJ JJ is offline
Veteran College Umpire
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: IN
Posts: 1,122
Quote:
Originally Posted by umpjong View Post
The NCAA rulebook has the similar wording, but in reviewing the 2009 Study Guide for NCAA that is put out by Referee magazine they have this rule interpreted as a base coach or another runner physically assisting him being grounds for an out. An e-mail has been sent for clarification since there is no interp citation of either a NCAA rules person nor a cite that it comes from MLB.
Will post (or JJ will) when an answer comes in. This is interesting since according to the study guide another base runner cannot physically assist while on the base paths. Hopefully this is not the authors own interp and we can track down the origin. Otherwise we are still where we are now........ Its unusual that an interp in this book is not cited by either a NCAA person or MLB.


Jim Paronto (NCAA) and Kyle McNeely (FED) both came back in agreement with the MLB call of out. Since the runner who scored is no longer considered a runner and he clearly assisted a runner who was making no attempt to return home, the runner is out for assistance.

JJ
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 01, 2010, 10:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,232
While I think that's the "right" ruling, I hope they change / clarify the rule next year to match.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 01, 2010, 11:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 1,772
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
While I think that's the "right" ruling, I hope they change / clarify the rule next year to match.
I agree with that. It makes sense that is the "right" ruling, but you have a hard time finding that anywhere in the rulebooks.

Thanks
David
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 01, 2010, 01:52pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by David B View Post
I agree with that. It makes sense that is the "right" ruling, but you have a hard time finding that anywhere in the rulebooks.

Thanks
David
Regardless, if this was called and I was serving on the protest committee, I'd quickly deny the protest. Baseball has a finite set of rules that cover a countably infinite set of circumstances.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 01, 2010, 06:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichMSN View Post
Regardless, if this was called and I was serving on the protest committee, I'd quickly deny the protest. Baseball has a finite set of rules that cover a countably infinite set of circumstances.
Nerd.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 01, 2010, 08:22pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
Nerd.
Heh heh. It's the only reference I've made using my two math degrees in years. Glad someone appreciated it.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 04, 2010, 10:44pm
Is this a legal title?
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by JJ View Post
Jim Paronto (NCAA) and Kyle McNeely (FED) both came back in agreement with the MLB call of out. Since the runner who scored is no longer considered a runner and he clearly assisted a runner who was making no attempt to return home, the runner is out for assistance.

JJ
They quoted the same rule Hernandez did, didn't they?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1