The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 29, 2010, 09:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by KJUmp View Post
grey...It was a touch for sure. Rodriguez grabbed Morgan with two hands (his right hand was around his waist) and then he pushed him toward HP.

Bill Ladson writing on MLB.com confirms that Angel Hernandez made the call.
Morgan out as a result on Rodriguez assisting the runner (Morgan).
Has anyone heard from Angel Hernandez? Writing on MLB.com for Washington does not confirm it for me. People have been stating or speculating that Rodriquez assisted the runner. Where in the rules is that illegal? He was practically carried back to the plate, but what rule did Mr. Ladson site? He said this, he said that, but what is the rule?
Also, comparing this play with another in which the catcher had a partial block of the plate, is like comparing Horseshoes to hand grenades. In this play the catcher was a step up the first baseline with his back to the runner. The runner had to go out of his way to contact the catcher, thus missing home. I have no idea what happened officially, but I do know that an apology was issued to Tony LaRusa about the contact.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 30, 2010, 02:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 937
Quote:
Originally Posted by callstrikes View Post
Has anyone heard from Angel Hernandez? Writing on MLB.com for Washington does not confirm it for me.

Well actually yes, Jim Ringelman heard from Angel during the ensuing argument. Quoting from Lasdon's article: "Ringelman argued the call but the play stood. The skipper admitted that he didn't see Roderiguez push Morgan toward the plate." Lasdon then quotes Ringelman directly, "You can't do that and he got caught, Ringelman said about Roderiguez pushing Morgan."

So we do know what Angel said, Ringelman just told us.

People have been stating or speculating that Rodriquez assisted the runner.
Where in the rules is that illegal? He was practically carried back to the plate, but what rule did Mr. Ladson site? He said this, he said that, but what is the rule?
Also, comparing this play with another in which the catcher had a partial block of the plate, is like comparing Horseshoes to hand grenades. In this play the catcher was a step up the first baseline with his back to the runner. The runner had to go out of his way to contact the catcher, thus missing home. I have no idea what happened officially, but I do know that an apology was issued to Tony LaRusa about the contact.
This is not to say that Angel was necessarily correct, but we do know he told Ringelman what it was that he called Morgan out for.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:00pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1