![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Same situation this time with the batter missing second base and out on appeal. How many runs score?
|
|
|||
|
Sven.....I and most on this forum could easily tell you but I listed the rule from the book in post #2. See if you can figure it out. Learn on your own and it will be much clearer for you.
__________________
"That's all I have to say about that." |
|
|||
|
Three. None of the exceptions were met.
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
|
What is the proper procedure on appeal. Since the ball cleared the fence, we have a dead ball. How would the defense appeal the batter-runner missing first base? We had this occur in a Babe Ruth League tournament game, and the defense verbally appealed, just as a team would in a NFHS game. The umpires did not acknowledge the appeal. When the umpire put the ball back in play, the defense made a proper appeal, and the batter-runner was called out. What if the home run was a "walk off" homer. Would the defense have to request the umpire to give them a ball to make an appeal?
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Home team manager would subsequently be tossed for vehemently objecting. |
|
|||
|
The OP mentions R2, R3 OR bases loaded. The appeal at 2B on the BR is a time play, and the time of the out is the time of the appeal. All of the preceding runners would have scored.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
I posted an AR that had the bases loaded. Sven quoted it and asked what would happen if the BR missed 2B instead of 1B.
As the bases were loaded in that situation, the answer is three.
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
|
I figured that the logic is that the out at first is akin to a force, whereas missing the other bases is the equivalent of a belated tag play.
I asked the question not because I didn't understand the rule as quoted but because I thought there might be other rules with which I was not familiar. OK. Bases loaded. Guy on first out on appeal for not touching second. There is some logic to the idea that he has been "forced" (my terminology of course) at second but it doesn't meet the exception requirement(s). I suppose two runs score, even if the BR circles the bases on the play. |
|
|||
|
Huh? It meets the "third out is a force out" exception. The appeal play is also a force out. No runs score.
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Base Touch Responsibility | David M | Baseball | 18 | Tue Jun 09, 2009 05:44pm |
| Missed re-touch of a base while retreating... | Bluefoot | Softball | 6 | Thu May 27, 2004 04:23pm |
| runner returning to touch base | shipwreck | Softball | 15 | Fri Mar 29, 2002 09:14am |
| Base touch responsibilities | Roger Greene | Softball | 2 | Thu Mar 01, 2001 09:58pm |
| Appeals missed base- tag/touch | rex | Baseball | 3 | Wed Aug 30, 2000 05:13pm |