The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 15, 2010, 12:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) View Post
bossman,

Why thank you for the compliment.

I've seen quite a few "post scoring" celebrations by an offensive teammate. (Usually, either the ODB who has come over to " base coach" the runner trying to score, or a "just scored" runner) and I have neve seen one interfere with a play at the plate.

Almost invariably, the "celebration" occurs away from the plate on the 3BLX. If the throw hits that cluster, it's a bad throw.

If an offensive teammate enters the natural throwing lane on a play at the plate, I would not hesitate to call the runner out for interference. A "just scored" runner, of course, would be allowed some latitude in this regard.

JM

Agreed 100%. When we have something goofy happen with a retired or just scored runner, we always have to consider (1) was there a play going on to interfere with? and (2 - more importantly) was the player doing what he's supposed to be doing.

In JM's example of "interfering" around 3BLX - the runner was doing what he's supposed to be doing (going to the dugout) and there was no play (since the throw passed the catcher, the scored runner was no longer interfering with the play at home plate). In the original play, he was NOT doing what he's supposed to be doing, therefore we have interference.

Prime example we see all the time is on an uncaught 3rd strike, the BR runs to first and accidentally kicks the ball. He was doing what he was supposed to be doing (going to first) and there was no intent to interfere, so it's nothing.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ball hits batter cards2323 Baseball 2 Tue May 10, 2005 10:48am
Foul Ball (hits batter in box) jstone999 Softball 14 Tue Apr 26, 2005 05:14pm
Batter hits ball twice while in box chuck chopper Softball 2 Thu Apr 29, 2004 09:40pm
batter hits ball after hits ground kfinucan Softball 13 Sun Jun 29, 2003 09:29pm
ball hits ground then batter amc1 Softball 2 Wed May 29, 2002 07:50am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1