View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 14, 2010, 09:34pm
easygoer easygoer is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 22
Yes, both are actually in front of the plate, and the on deck batter is on the left hand batters box side of the plate in front. He started the play in the on deck circle on the 3rd base side. And yes he and the player who had just scored were chest bumping in front of the plate. I can only assume they thought the game was over as they had just scored the go ahead run. When the no call was questioned the umpire stated there was no interference because "he had just scored". When I pointed out that the person who just scored was not who was hit, but the person who was hit and rolling around on the ground, again in front of the plate was the on deck batter, all the way over from the 3rd base side. He had no answer at that point other than to say no interfernce or obstruction.
And yes I was very much involved, I was coaching the defensive team. Wish they caught better, this never would have happened! I am having a difficult time understanding how two players celebrating in the field of play and being struck by a live ball thrown to the plate to try preventing one of their team mates from scoring is not a violation of any baseball rule.
I guess I should have been more specific in my original post as to the precise circumstances, but it seemed pretty cut and dried to me.

But I admit I had a dog in the fight.

Thanks again,

Popcorn
Reply With Quote