The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 10, 2005, 10:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 22
With runner on first, batter has 1 strike. Batter attempts to bunt, misses ball (clearly an attempt), the ball hits the batter in the leg. The runner advances to 2nd. Is the correct call, a strike and then a dead ball? Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 10, 2005, 10:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 148
Dead ball, strike on the batter, return runner to the base occupied at TOP.
__________________
Allen
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 10, 2005, 10:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 555
Ball is immediately dead when it hits the batter. If he attempted to bunt the ball, that's the same as him swinging at the pitch and it hitting him, it is a strike.

R1, who was stealing, goes back to first.
__________________
Well I am certainly wiser than this man. It is only too likely that neither of us has any knowledge to boast of; but he thinks that he knows something which he does not know, whereas I am quite conscious of my ignorance. At any rate it seems that I am wiser than he is to this small extent, that I do not think that I know what I do not know. ~Socrates
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1