The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 22, 2010, 03:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
OBR 6.05k uses the expression "fielded to first base," which is probably the basis for the idea that an "intervening play" negates running-lane interference.
The "intervening play" does not negate running lane interference. It only means that runners return TOI instead of TOP.

In FED, runners always return TOI, with the exception of FPSR.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 22, 2010, 05:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
The "intervening play" does not negate running lane interference. It only means that runners return TOI instead of TOP.
Right. I knew that. Duh me.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 22, 2010, 09:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 425
So does FED use the intervening play philosophy, or all all runners returned if R3 is safe?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 22, 2010, 10:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

UmpTT,

I guess you could say FED uses the "intervening play" philosophy because in all three sitches in Tim's OP, the play at the plate "stands" and any remaining runners are returned to their TOI (rather than TOP) bases.

But FED doesn't really need the "intervening play" concept because the "default" rule in FED is that on interference, runners return to their TOI base, not their TOP base.

For example....

R1, no outs. R1 is stealing on the pitch and the batter hits a "swinging bunt" out in front of home plate. As the catcher fields the ball and begins to throw, the R1 has already reached 2B. The BR, running in fair territory the whole way, is hit by the catcher's throw and the ball dribbles into the 1B dugout on the ricochet.

In OBR, the BR is out for the RL interference and the R1 returns to 1B.

In FED, the BR is out for RL interference and the R1 gets to stay at 2B.

No, really.

And, if you think THAT'S strange, brand new for 2010, there's a FED interp that says you award a runner a base BEYOND that he legally occupied at TOI when his runner teammate interferes.

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 22, 2010, 10:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 425
Thanks JM
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 23, 2010, 08:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 685
Fed Ref please?

Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) View Post
UmpTT,

I guess you could say FED uses the "intervening play" philosophy because in all three sitches in Tim's OP, the play at the plate "stands" and any remaining runners are returned to their TOI (rather than TOP) bases.

But FED doesn't really need the "intervening play" concept because the "default" rule in FED is that on interference, runners return to their TOI base, not their TOP base.

For example....

R1, no outs. R1 is stealing on the pitch and the batter hits a "swinging bunt" out in front of home plate. As the catcher fields the ball and begins to throw, the R1 has already reached 2B. The BR, running in fair territory the whole way, is hit by the catcher's throw and the ball dribbles into the 1B dugout on the ricochet.

In OBR, the BR is out for the RL interference and the R1 returns to 1B.

In FED, the BR is out for RL interference and the R1 gets to stay at 2B.

No, really.

And, if you think THAT'S strange, brand new for 2010, there's a FED interp that says you award a runner a base BEYOND that he legally occupied at TOI when his runner teammate interferes.

JM
JM,

Can you give me the reference for this interp you speak about in the last sentence?

Thanks!

Last edited by jkumpire; Tue Mar 23, 2010 at 08:36am.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 23, 2010, 11:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkumpire View Post
JM,

Can you give me the reference for this interp you speak about in the last sentence?

Thanks!
jk,

I was referring to the FED 2010 Interps, Situation 13.

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 24, 2010, 05:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 685
Thank you

Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) View Post
jk,

I was referring to the FED 2010 Interps, Situation 13.

JM
I appreciate your post.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 23, 2010, 09:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Newburgh NY
Posts: 1,822
[QUOTE=UmpJM (nee CoachJM);670022]UmpTT,

Quote:
I guess you could say FED uses the "intervening play" philosophy because in all three sitches in Tim's OP, the play at the plate "stands" and any remaining runners are returned to their TOI (rather than TOP) bases.

But FED doesn't really need the "intervening play" concept because the "default" rule in FED is that on interference, runners return to their TOI base, not their TOP base.
Not all Interference in FED is from TOI. The EXCEPTION as Bob pointed out is the FPSR.

Example:

R1/R2 - hit an run. Ground ball to F6 who throws to F4 to start the 6-4-3 DP. When F4 receives the throw from F6, R2 is already on third at this point(it was a Hit/Run sitch), R1 slides illegally into second base.

The call is

1. TIME
2. that's interference
3. R1 and B1 are out
4. R2 (now R3) is returned to second base.

Therefore, even though R2 had reached 3rd base at TOI because it was a FPSR violation he returns to his TOP base.

Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 23, 2010, 09:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeteBooth View Post
The call is

1. TIME
2. that's interference
...
Swap the order.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 23, 2010, 11:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 425
Quote:
Originally Posted by dash_riprock View Post
Swap the order.
Why? A FPSR violation is an immediate dead ball, hence "Time, that's interference."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
You Make the Call... hsfootballfan Football 43 Sat Dec 05, 2009 11:11am
You Make the Call varefump Softball 19 Fri Apr 22, 2005 09:07am
STC - You make the call!!! KWH Football 26 Wed Mar 09, 2005 04:04pm
Make the call oppool Softball 14 Sun Oct 13, 2002 03:36pm
Make the Call oppool Softball 12 Fri Jul 19, 2002 09:11pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:43am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1