![]() |
|
|
|||
NFHS RLV You Make the Call
OK, so here we go:
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Sit. 1: The runner from third is out on the force play at home; B4 is out for running lane interference. 8-4-1g is restricted only to the ball "being fielded or thrown to first base" (whatever "fielded to first base" would mean). I would leave runners at 2B and 3B on the play, unless my partner or I saw that the runners had NOT achieved their advance base at TOI. In short: what Bob said. Sit. 2: Runner is safe on the play at home; B4 is out for garden-variety running-lane interference. Sit. 3: The play at the plate stands. If the umpire rules that B4 interfered by being out of the running lane, B4 is out, the ball is dead immediately, and other runners return to their TOI bases. If the umpires didn't kill it immediately upon the interference, they should have, and in any case it's dead anyway. Send the runners back. In short: I don't see how reading more carefully would lead to a conclusion different from Bob's.
__________________
Cheers, mb Last edited by mbyron; Mon Mar 22, 2010 at 02:20pm. |
|
|||
I can't recall if FED adopts the "intervening play" philosophy. I am thinking they do not. If that is the case, when it is determined that the BR interfered with the play at first, the ball is immediately dead, BR is out, and runners return to positions at TOP. If R1 (assuming R3) is out, that out would stand.
If they do accept the "intervening play" philosophy, again immediate dead ball at time of INT, BR out, and runners placed at time of INT. |
|
|||
OBR 6.05k uses the expression "fielded to first base," which is probably the basis for the idea that an "intervening play" negates running-lane interference.
FED 8-4-1g uses the expression "fielded or thrown to first base," which suggests that an intervening play would not relieve the BR of his obligation to run in the running lane.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Quote:
In FED, the same is true except that INT can be called if the BR interfered with the throw or the act of fielding the throw. |
|
|||
Quote:
In FED, runners always return TOI, with the exception of FPSR. |
|
|||
Bob/Mbyron
I apologize: I "misremembered" Bob's answer!
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
You Make the Call... | hsfootballfan | Football | 43 | Sat Dec 05, 2009 11:11am |
You Make the Call | varefump | Softball | 19 | Fri Apr 22, 2005 09:07am |
STC - You make the call!!! | KWH | Football | 26 | Wed Mar 09, 2005 04:04pm |
Make the call | oppool | Softball | 14 | Sun Oct 13, 2002 03:36pm |
Make the Call | oppool | Softball | 12 | Fri Jul 19, 2002 09:11pm |