The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 13, 2010, 10:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
Once a runner aquires the right to a base, he has fulfilled his obligation for touching the base whether advancing or returning and therefore can not miss thed base he already touched.

In Fed? "Please read Situation #9 coach and direct all questions to NFHS, maybe they can explain it better."

The way I am understaning this now, (and I may be wrong), in the OP had the returning runner missed 3b when returning and then again when heading for home, you would still deny the appeal. If this is different please supply a reference.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 13, 2010, 11:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by jicecone View Post
The way I am understanding this now, (and I may be wrong), in the OP had the returning runner missed 3b when returning and then again when heading for home, you would still deny the appeal. If this is different please supply a reference.
For FED, R1 (on third) is out on appeal. The reference is Situation 9: "Ruling: R1 is out on the valid defensive appeal."

For all other codes: deny the appeal.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 13, 2010, 01:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 605
For what it is worth, the runner was called out. As was pointed out above, the runner was called out at the end of the play (and not on appeal) because we have no appeal plays in SC.

Also, for what it is worth, I have read through this thread several times and I now have doubts...but prior to this thread I definitely would have called R3 out on appeal had this occurred in a game when I was in MiLB.

Thanks for everyone's thoughts.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 15, 2010, 01:49pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
I was reading through some FED interps on NFHS.com last night and saw this exact play posted in there on their official 2010 interps document that has 20 sample case plays. NFHS interp states that the runner must retouch 3B or be called out on appeal.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 15, 2010, 04:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyg08 View Post
I was reading through some FED interps on NFHS.com last night and saw this exact play posted in there on their official 2010 interps document that has 20 sample case plays. NFHS interp states that the runner must retouch 3B or be called out on appeal.
RIght -- as first noted in post #7 and as quoted in post #9.

We're discussing whether it's the "right" ruling in FED and whether it is (or should be) the same in other codes.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 15, 2010, 05:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
That topic comes up fairly often on discussion boards, that SC allows no appeals. I know that quite a few years ago this was the rule for all FED games, it was since changed and SC retained the old rule. But it always makes me wonder about something else.

When you say NO appeals, how do they handle appeals for batting out of order, which the rule book clearly labels an appeal by the defense? Or, is it that SC just doesn't allow BASERUNNING appeals?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 15, 2010, 05:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Upstate SC
Posts: 152
Bretman,

Great question and pickup. Since I'm not looking at my lineup card for each batter, those issues of batting out of order must be brought to our attention by the defense (or offense, for that matter, depending on the time). So, to better answer you, yes, only on baserunning infractions.

In our state clinic last Thursday, the director of the HS League defended the continued use of this policy in SC essentially as this (and this was said in front of coaches present at the clinic) - to paraphrase, "why should kids who aren't taught the proper way to appeal, or even to appeal in the first place be penalized because they have bad coaching?" He went on to suggest some schools have coaches in place because they are the nearest warm body to put there, so the kids don't learn proper baseball rules such as appeals, so why should they be required to bring it to the attention of the umpire, when the umpire should just see it in the first place!

Yes, this is pretty much what he said, so I don't see it changing in this state anytime soon. And for the record, every school we cover in our association has pretty good coaching at all levels (1A to 4A). Nobody that I'd consider a warm body by any stretch of that definition.
__________________
Never argue with idiots...they drag you down to their level, then beat you with experience.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 15, 2010, 06:56pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
RIght -- as first noted in post #7 and as quoted in post #9.

We're discussing whether it's the "right" ruling in FED and whether it is (or should be) the same in other codes.
Isn't it "right" until they change it?
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 15, 2010, 06:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyg08 View Post
Isn't it "right" until they change it?
It's official, and I'll enforce it that way.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 15, 2010, 02:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by lawump View Post
because we have no appeal plays in SC.
Waaaaahuh? You mean...none? At all? For anything?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 15, 2010, 03:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: West of Atlanta, GA
Posts: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by cviverito View Post
Waaaaahuh? You mean...none? At all? For anything?
In SC under FED rules, if the umpire sees a missed base, he calls it without any defensive player/coach having to tell him. This is an old FED rule which only SC still does. In others, the defense has to at least tell the umpire before he makes a ruling. And, as you know in OBR, the defense has to tag/touch the runner/base for a ruling.
__________________
Question everything until you get an irrefutable or understandable answer...Don't settle for "That's Just the Way it is"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1