View Single Post
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 12, 2010, 10:55am
bossman72 bossman72 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Take the same play (remember starting with R3), but when R3 overruns third, the defense makes a move to tag him. R3 runs directly to second, reaches it and is standing on the base when the defense tags him. Now what's your ruling?

Me? I'd have an out.

And, since R3 can't "retreat" to second, he can't "retreat past third." So, he's not required to touch third again.
I see what you're getting at, but when the runner goes home, he physically steps over 3rd base (or slightly around it). When he goes to 2nd, if you draw his path on paper, he's making a "wide turn" if you look at it. I wouldn't have an out in your scenario.
Reply With Quote