The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 12, 2010, 05:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by dash_riprock View Post
In the OP, the pitcher had not assumed his pitching position when the runner retreated.

....
Dash,

Huh?!?!!? WTF are you talking about?

In the OP, the R3 STARTS on 3B (hence, the appellation, "R3"). The pitcher then presumably pitches the ball because I don't understand how the batter could have...

Quote:
... hit(s) the ball out in front of the plate....
if the pitcher never pitched it.

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 12, 2010, 08:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) View Post

In the OP, the R3 STARTS on 3B
Oops. You're right. Thanks for not being snotty about it.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 12, 2010, 08:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
Ok, for the record then. In Fed the runner is out on appeal because of Situation #9 ONLY. A runner is either advancing and shall touch the bases in order or returning, and shall retouch the bases in reverse order. Black and white no exceptions during live action.

In OBR there is no Situation #9 so we abide by the real rules that read quite similar to Fed, except for Situation #9.

In Fed you uphold appeal, in OBR you deny.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 12, 2010, 11:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,577
no must touch, no must retouch

B/R may run directly to 2B after running up the line past 1B.

Retouching a base is only required when runner must retreat.

Neither condition is satisfied in the OP, thus OBR is correct.

The runner advancing home and returning to 3B is not required to retouch 3B in either direction.

FED Situation 9 now requires a runner to retouch a previously occupied base before advancing to the next base. Reminds me of the FED foul ball ruling that was recently rescinded.
__________________
SAump

Last edited by SAump; Sat Feb 13, 2010 at 12:38am.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:10pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1