The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Mon Sep 28, 2009, 11:10am
Official Forum Member

Question Ejection Question.....your opinion...

It hasn't happen to any of my players (when I was a coach) thankfully......however I have seen this happen several times in ALL sports....basketball, baseball, soccer, etc. We are usually talking about teenagers or younger.

Situation....player barks something at referee/umpire......official says to player one more word and you're gone......player then says something like "Yes Sir" or "OK" in a resigning tone......RESULT: Player gets tossed!!

I've seen it happen and had it happen to me (when umping) and I won't toss a player for that. I asked one fellow ump why he tossed the kid.....ump told me, "I told him one more word and he's gone. He said "OK" so I tossed him".

Am I too easy on these kids? If they give me trouble again....God Bless Them....but they rarely do.
Old Mon Sep 28, 2009, 11:39am
Official Forum Member

Properly trained officials do not use the expression, "One more word and you're gone." You have observed the reason.

With proper instruction, these officials will learn to say, "that's enough," or something similar.

Of course, the barking alone might warrant an ejection: it's a myth that a warning is required before an ejection.
Old Mon Sep 28, 2009, 01:34pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Quote:
Originally Posted by kheisner View Post
It hasn't happen to any of my players (when I was a coach) thankfully......however I have seen this happen several times in ALL sports....basketball, baseball, soccer, etc. We are usually talking about teenagers or younger.

Situation....player barks something at referee/umpire......official says to player one more word and you're gone......player then says something like "Yes Sir" or "OK" in a resigning tone......RESULT: Player gets tossed!!