The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 14, 2009, 08:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,275
Foul tip, catch?

Batter nicks a ball that hits F2's glove, hits F2's helmet, and deflects up into the air. F2 catches the ball before it hits the ground.

Foul tip or a catch?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 14, 2009, 08:59pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,972
foul ball. foul tip and catch would be the same thing.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 14, 2009, 09:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyg08 View Post
foul ball. foul tip and catch would be the same thing.
Nope. He's asking if it's a foul tip or a caught foul ball thus an out.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong

Last edited by Rich Ives; Fri Aug 14, 2009 at 09:18pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 14, 2009, 09:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by zm1283 View Post
Batter nicks a ball that hits F2's glove, hits F2's helmet, and deflects up into the air. F2 catches the ball before it hits the ground.

Foul tip or a catch?
Foul tip - strike.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 14, 2009, 09:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,275
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
Nope. He's asking if it's a foul tip or a caught foul ball thus an out.
Yes, that is what I was asking.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
Foul tip - strike.
Thanks. That's what I thought but I wanted to make sure.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 14, 2009, 10:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NY state
Posts: 1,504
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyg08 View Post
foul ball.
Nope. Since it went direct to the catcher's mitt, and was caught before hitting the ground or other object, it's still live and a foul tip.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 14, 2009, 10:22pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,972
The batter's helmet doesn't qualify as another object?
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 14, 2009, 10:53pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyg08 View Post
The batter's helmet doesn't qualify as another object?
It can hit a variety of objects as long as the ball is caught if these two things happen:

1) sharp and direct and hits glove before anything else.

2) ball never hits the ground.

Very similar to "magic bullet" theory in Kennedy Assassination.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 14, 2009, 11:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NY state
Posts: 1,504
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyg08 View Post
The batter's helmet doesn't qualify as another object?
Nope. Another object would be like the back stop, dugout, rock, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 15, 2009, 03:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyg08 View Post
The batter's helmet doesn't qualify as another object?
The OP said it hit F2's helmet?? Not batters helmet?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 15, 2009, 07:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by luvthegame View Post
The OP said it hit F2's helmet?? Not batters helmet?

Right -- so it's a foul tip.

If it had hit the batter's helmet, or the umpire's helmet, it would be a foul ball.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 15, 2009, 07:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,621
Quote:
Originally Posted by luvthegame View Post
The OP said it hit F2's helmet?? Not batters helmet?
Correct about the OP. If the ball deflects off F2's mitt and hits the batter, it's a foul ball.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 15, 2009, 09:04am
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,972
Ah...I misread the OP...thanks fellas....the ball hitting off of the batter and still being live was bothering me...I gotta get better reading glasses! Happy Saturday!
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 15, 2009, 09:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
As long as it dosen't hit the on deck batters bat, then we have a 20 page thread, and it's still foul. Maybe???????? Or is it interference??????
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ankiel injury - Catch/No-catch? TxUmp Baseball 17 Wed May 06, 2009 11:26pm
BU help PU with catch/no catch in infield? Angler Softball 4 Thu Mar 13, 2008 10:20am
Catch or no catch(foul ball)? illiniwek8 Baseball 2 Sat Mar 25, 2006 07:16pm
To catch, or not to catch; the coin, that is... chiefgil Football 13 Wed Aug 11, 2004 06:40am
FOUL BALL - Catch? WestMichBlue Softball 9 Tue Aug 19, 2003 07:16pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:19am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1