![]() |
|
|
|||
touche
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
|
|||
Quote:
#2. On what, a missed base, failure to tag up, failure to REACH a base? |
|
|||
WHo cares? They all said it's valid.
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
Ok before we get to 5 pages I will succumb to Fivesdada game.
I agree You out, you out You mama says you out You appealed at first and the run don't score The inning over and der ain't no more You out, you out. Next thread please. |
|
|||
Why? The persons empowered to make rules ruled. If you're doing one of their games it's official.
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
Quote:
In two cases they are interps from people no longer making interps. And none are from people who provide interps for MLB. |
|
|||
True. Do you have something written from MLB that contradicts these interps? Until we have that, I don't see much choice other than to go with what we have, individual MLB umpires' opinions to the contrary notwithstanding.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Quote:
Do rules/laws expire when the persons passing them leave office? Not where I live. I never said they covered MLB - I said FED, NCAA, and PBUC. So you don't like the rulings. Evans doesn't like the MLB ruling that you can overrun first on a walk. People have differing opinions on how things should be interpreted. That doesn't mean one can ignore the official ones in the applicable venues.
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong Last edited by Rich Ives; Wed Aug 12, 2009 at 08:57am. |
|
|||
Quote:
FED: OFF INTERP 2-3: Hopkins: If the defense gains a third out during play, but the batter-runner has not yet reached first at the time of the out, the defense may play on him at first for an advantageous fourth out. [email to Stevens, 5/11/01] {See 9-1-1 Ex d.} NCAA: OFF INTERP 3-3: Fetchiet: Same as FED OFF INTERP 2-3. [Website 4/18/01, 8-6a]{See 8-6b-7} OBR: OFF INTERP 4-3: Fitzpatrick: Same as FED. [email to cc, 1/17/01] {See 7.10} •Play 3-3: R3, R2, 2 outs: B1 singles to the outfield but injures himself coming out of the box; he cannot continue. R3 scores easily, but R2 is thrown out at home: 3 outs. The catcher then fires to F3, who tags first in advance of B1. Ruling: The "appeal" at first results in an advantageous fourth out that cancels R3's run.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Quote:
Apparently some major league umpires haven't read, or don't care what the BRD has to say. |
|
|||
Why? Do rules have to be re-done every year?
They're in effect until changed - and these haven't.
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
I believe you quoted interpretations of rules, not rules.
Quote:
Last edited by MrUmpire; Tue Aug 11, 2009 at 11:33pm. |
|
|||
I know we have bantered about this before on another forum. I did not know that Fitzpatrick ruled that way. This is not the only interp from Fitz that has raised eyebrows. If it is the official interp, I wonder why it would not be in any other publications such as the MLBUM? This ruling is in stark contrast to other rules that define what is acceptable by appeal and the very definition of an appeal.
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Routine Situation and Odd Ruling | Ref Ump Welsch | Softball | 39 | Wed May 06, 2009 03:03pm |
HELP WITH A RULING | jason181988 | Baseball | 12 | Mon May 02, 2005 04:38pm |
T Situation Ruling | BigGref | Basketball | 11 | Sun Feb 29, 2004 11:35pm |
Need help on a ruling | kimo | Softball | 34 | Thu Aug 14, 2003 04:45pm |
Ruling help | hoopcoach98 | Basketball | 11 | Mon Apr 01, 2002 04:09pm |