![]() |
|
|
|||
So when the catcher throws down to third in an attempt to pick off or catch the runner stealing and the batter steps out of the box and turns to get his sign from the coach(no where near the catcher so no interference with throwing motion) but catcher is already throwing ball to third which then hits said batter in the helmet deflecting the throw (again no interference with the actual throwing motion at all and ball is clearly not in catcher's hand) this would be a non call by you, live ball play on?
__________________
Just where are those dang keys?! |
|
|||
Quote:
A runner needs to have intent to be called out for interfering with a thrown ball. A batter can, by 6.06c, be penalized for interfering with a ball thrown by the catcher. Yes, I know 6.06c says "throwing", and you can try to argue that means only the throwing motion, but MLBUM 6.8 says "the catcher's throw". J/R Ch. 13 makes clear that interference may be called if the actual throw hits the batter. Or you could look at the last paragraph of MLBUM 6.10, which also illustrates the point. NFump's scenario above is batter's interference. |
|
|||
Quote:
1) R1 (LLBB 7.13)...this runner can now legally attempt to advance to 2nd base (he can run, walk, walk slowly, crawl), or attempt to draw a throw from the catcher as he tries to get back to 1st base. The fact that "he is moving so slowly" has no bearing on the play. Tha fact is by rule, r1 can do what he's doing and by rule the defense can make a play on R1 if they choose to do so. 2) The batter...and he is still a batter NOT a batter-runner...(LLBB 2.0 Pg.51)and (LLBB 6.09)...and is OUT (LLBB 6.06 c): "The batter is out for illegal action when (c) interfering with the catcher's fielding or throwing by stepping out of the batter's box OR making any other movement that hinders the catcher's play at home base." Also reference LLBB Casebook 6.06 Pg.22-23. >Was the batter out of the batter's box? YES >Based on the sitch stated in the OP did he have any LEGAL reason to be where he was when strcuk by the throw? NO (His confusion as to wether it was ball 3 or 4 does not matter..as according to the OP the PU only called the pitch a Ball...not "Ball 4"). >Did the batter's action cause interference of the throw by the catcher as he attempted to make a play that BY RULE he was entitled to make? YES >RULING:INTERFERENCE ON THE BATTER. Batter is out. R1 goes back to 1st. Two outs, 3&2 count on the batter. If you work a lot of LLBB odd plays like this will and do occur. At both the LLBB annual regional clinics and their umpire's school, the national and regional umpire staffs preach the concept of advantage/disadvantage when these weird situatons happen. Apply the proper LLB rule and/or interpertation is the first step, but always make sure neither team gained an advantage or was put at a disadvantage by the actions of the other team if somehow the rule/interp does not fit the particular sitch perfectly. It's LLBB...it's a different world than big diamond ball. Also, if you are a rgistered LL umpire, you can call your regional headquarters and get an official ruling/interpertation from the staff. If this play occured during LLBB tournament play (district level right up to the LLWS), and the on filed ruling was protested, a call to the regional office is made right then and there before play can continue. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Little League D-2 | llcoach | Baseball | 20 | Sun Jun 25, 2006 07:27pm |
Little League | TexBlue | Softball | 6 | Sat Aug 20, 2005 11:49pm |
Little League WS: WA v MD | Carl Childress | Baseball | 8 | Mon Aug 23, 2004 12:40pm |
I don't believe my league..... | wobster | Baseball | 45 | Fri Jun 25, 2004 12:33am |
Little League - other league participation | RustyWinslow | Baseball | 2 | Tue May 11, 2004 01:26am |