![]() |
|
|
|||
Wow, 75 posts for an obs. call?
Rule 7.08(b) Comment: A runner who is adjudged to have hindered a fielder who is attempting to make a play on a batted ball is out whether it was intentional or not. If, however, the runner has contact with a legally occupied base when he hinders the fielder, he shall not be called out unless, in the umpire’s judgment, such hindrance, whether it occurs on fair or foul territory, is intentional. Very simple, R2 is "allowed" to hinder the fielder in this situation. Okay, no interference so that's off the table. Now to the OBS, no umpire in the world should ever call anything but OBS should a defender move a runner off a base, regardless of intention. If however the natural action of tagging and a runners unstability combine to take him off the bag, very possibly an out. But anything more than that uh-uh.
__________________
SLAS |
|
|||
Quote:
OBSTRUCTION is the act of a fielder who, while not in possession of the ball and not in the act of fielding the ball, impedes the progress of any runner. This is why I said to rule out any intent on the part of either player, because intentionally running into the runner or intentionally interfering with the fielder changes the play and the ruling. No intent is stated or implied in the OP.
__________________
Just where are those dang keys?! |
|
|||
Quote:
He did give us one clue, in that the runner got knocked off the base and was knocked so far off it apparently, that he was incapacitated enough to not make it back the step or two away from the base he was knocked. He was off the base SO LONG in fact, that the fielder had time to regain his composure, camp under the ball, make the catch, then go back and tag the runner, who, just happened to get jostled a bit from some incidental contact. Sounds like a BS scenario to me. Are you sure he didn't have time for a smoke too, before going back to tag the runner? This is why I deduced on my own (as Johnny One-Timer didn't provide any additional facts to help reach a logical deduction) that the runner must have been lying on the ground incapacitated. Why on earth else wouldn't he have been able to right himself and get back on the base before Speedy Gonzalez there could make his heroic catch, and return to tag him out? He must have been either injured from the contact, or still down on the ground. The person who posted this OP is more than likely some professional troll who knows how to push our buttons, and perhaps has posed the question before with spectacular results. He is probably having a good laugh at out expense because he was intentionally vague in his description of the situation.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25 |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Double play at first | mydingding77 | Softball | 15 | Thu Apr 23, 2009 11:49am |
double play..or not | coach2535 | Baseball | 10 | Tue May 29, 2007 10:10pm |
Phantom Double Play | EMD | Baseball | 7 | Mon Aug 08, 2005 03:41pm |
double play...or is it?? | soonerfan | Baseball | 5 | Tue Jun 24, 2003 02:56pm |
Double play | Whowefoolin | Baseball | 9 | Wed Jul 25, 2001 12:37pm |