![]() |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Yes, you are supposed to use your baseball acumen to judge whether the fielder intentionally knocked the runner off the base or was making a legitimate effort to field the batted ball. Like football, baseball is a "contact sport". Unlike football, it is not an "intentional contact sport". As described, the essential question in the OP is whether anyone is "penalized" - or aspects of the play are "nullified" - because the result of the legal contact was the runner losing contact with his base and subsequently being tagged out. To me, there is no basis in the rules for anything other than, "live ball, play the bounce". As it would be if the OP were changed so that the contact prevented the F6 from making the catch. Legal contact, whatever happens, happens. Fair is actually playing by the rules rather than injecting a foreign notion of "fairness" because something weird happens. I do not believe an "official interpretation" exists that would clarify the question. JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Double play at first | mydingding77 | Softball | 15 | Thu Apr 23, 2009 11:49am |
| double play..or not | coach2535 | Baseball | 10 | Tue May 29, 2007 10:10pm |
| Phantom Double Play | EMD | Baseball | 7 | Mon Aug 08, 2005 03:41pm |
| double play...or is it?? | soonerfan | Baseball | 5 | Tue Jun 24, 2003 02:56pm |
| Double play | Whowefoolin | Baseball | 9 | Wed Jul 25, 2001 12:37pm |