![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
I guess with no outs this may come into play. You are right with 1 or 2 outs it doesn't matter, innings over and R3 cannot score. Example: which is correct call?
Scenario: 0 outs - R3 and R1 - BR hits grounder to F4, R1 causes Interference to prevent DP. Ruling 1. R1 is out, and R3 is out. BR advances to 1B. Ruling 2: R1 is Out, BR is Out, and R3 returns to 3B. |
|
|||
|
Based on reading the rule, Ruling 2 applies. R1 and BR out. R3 returns to 3B.
Generally, number of outs only applies to BI with R3 stealing HP.
__________________
Question everything until you get an irrefutable or understandable answer...Don't settle for "That's Just the Way it is" |
|
|||
|
Quote:
If the BATTER RUNNER interferes, then rule 7.09(g) applies -- the BR and the runner closest to home are out; other runners return. (note: those are 2007 references, so the numbers might have changed) |
|
|||
|
The references in the version of OBR at mlb.com are the same.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Interference by R1 into 2nd on double play | Klokard | Baseball | 6 | Fri May 01, 2009 10:11am |
| Interference - Double Play | wadeintothem | Softball | 16 | Wed Apr 22, 2009 10:31am |
| Interference on double play? | Linknblue | Softball | 5 | Tue Aug 05, 2008 11:44am |
| double play..or not | coach2535 | Baseball | 10 | Tue May 29, 2007 10:10pm |
| Obstruction, Interference, Double Play???? | JRSooner | Baseball | 3 | Thu Apr 06, 2006 02:02am |