![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Your "coach-umpire" conversation is correct. Furthermore, when F1 is straddling the pitching plate he is an infielder and not a pitcher. Now let us go one step further: "F1 is clearly straddling the pitcher's plate, leaning in and taking signs. F1 then makes intentional contact with the pitcher's plate, leans in and takes or simulates taking signs from F2." Has F1 violated any thing in NFHS Rule 6? OR "F1 is clearly straddling the pitcher's plate, leaning in and taking signs. F1 then makes intentional contact with the pitcher's plate, and immediately throws a pitch to the batter." Has F1 violated any thing in NFHS Rule 6? The answer to the former is NO, and the answer to the latter is YES. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
Quote:
That is incorrect. There are several such statements in the book, the requirement of the pitcher taking signs from the rubber being just one. Feel free to ingore the rule if you'd like, but to insist it isn't there is BS. |
|
|||
Quote:
The intent of the rule is to keep the pitcher from quick pitching. How many pitchers only throw one pitch and get no signs from the catcher? As long as he gives the batter ample time, its well within the intent of the rule. |
|
|||
![]()
MrUmpire,
I find MTD's suggested rulings entirely in accordance with the text of the rule, it's intended purpose, and the suggested interpretation and application found in both the JEA and J/R. I believe you are suggesting the existence of a rule which simply does not exist. JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. |
|
|||
Quote:
Runners also need ample time and are generally taught not to leave the bag until the pitcher's on the rubber. It's deceiving and it's against the rules for more than one reason. |
|
|||
Runners are (should be) coached that the can start their lead as soon as the pitcher is on or astride the rubber - because it's a balk if he doesn't have the ball. Even if he quick-pitches, the runners willl still have their lead established.
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
I am merely responding to MTD's earlier posts that, in essence, denied it's existence. I care not how you choose to, or choose not to enforce it. I simply rebel when one claims something that I can see does not exist. |
|
|||
Quote:
I don't give a flying phuck if you or anyone enforces it or not. At least you admit the rule exists. MTD has tried to sell the belief it isn't there at all. |
|
|||
![]()
MrUmpire,
Could you give me a cite please, because I can't find it. The only one I can find says that when he's on the rubber he shall take his signs from the catcher. As the rulebook language sugggests, this is to prevent the pitcher gaining an unintended advantage over the batter or runners by engaging the rubber and immediately "hurrying into the pitch" without pausing to take signs: Quote:
JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
Just ask FED for help
FED 6-1-1 "He shall take his sign from the catcher with his pivot foot in contact with the pitcher's plate."
The intention here is to establish the pitcher, apart from the other infielders. FED 6-1-1 "The pitching regulations begin when he intentionally contacts the pitcher's plate." The intention here is to establish the time frame when a pitcher becomes subject to all pitching regulations. One cannot call a balk until the pitcher has first made contact with the pitcher's plate. Valid justifications for which a proper balk penalty may be charged against the pitcher are found in FED rule 6-2-4. This rule requires the pitcher to be touching the pitcher's plate. FED 6-2-5 "It is also a balk if a runner or runners are on base and the pitcher, while he is not touching the pitcher's plate makes any movement naturally associated with his pitch, ... " Merely placing his feet on or "astride" the pitcher's plate does not qualify as movement associated with his pitch. Taking signs does not qualify as movement associated with his pitch. Now I do suppose that one could interpret "or he places his feet on or astride the pitcher's plate" with the ball in his hand as a prerequisite for a balk, but it would be difficult to justify a balk in the OP.
__________________
SAump ![]() Last edited by SAump; Thu Jun 11, 2009 at 06:16pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() I learn so much about baseball coaching here. |
|
|||
Oh, I'll bet that hurt. He may never recover.
What wit. ![]() Did you spend a lot of time working on that "zinger" or do you subscribe to some coaches' service that provides such provocative and scorching comments? |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Balk/No Balk: LHP fients pickoff the 3rd base | Mike6221 | Baseball | 4 | Sun Jun 07, 2009 09:47pm |
RHP in stretch facing 1st base (balk or no balk) | tem_blue | Baseball | 6 | Thu Jul 20, 2006 10:00pm |
Stealing Home, P in Windup, Balk or No Balk? | johnnyg08 | Baseball | 2 | Wed Jul 05, 2006 10:12am |
Was this a Balk ? I called it a Balk. | nickrego | Baseball | 20 | Fri May 12, 2006 06:07am |
Balk, Balk Yells the Coach!!! | Gre144 | Baseball | 12 | Tue Jul 10, 2001 07:32am |