![]() |
|
|
|||
a 3 "WOW" rating
Quote:
..shall take signs from the catcher while in contact with the pitcher plate PLEASE INVITE ME TO THIS GAME... Pitcher is clearly straddling rubber, leaning in and taking signs. Base coach: Hey Mr. Official, doesn't he need to be in contact with the rubber to take signs. Official: He's not doing anything illegal, so go pound sand Base coach: muttering.. I swear I read that once, oh well, the umpire is always right!
__________________
LLJVU in Seattle |
|
|||
![]() Quote:
They certainly do. However, I cannot find the part that says he cannot (also) takes signs while he is NOT in contact with the rubber. As long as he DOES take signs once he does get on the rubber, he has not violated the rule you cite. JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. |
|
|||
Quote:
Shall—used to express a command or exhortation |
|
|||
Quote:
But, just because you "shall" do something, does not mean you can't also do something else. If F1 takes signs off the rubber, then takes them on the rubber, he has complied with the directive that he "shall" take them on the rubber. (The wording doesn't say "shall take signs only while on the rubber" for example.) In any event, it's somewhat pointless, imo, to argue the fine meanings of some of the phrases. This saying could apply to FED and OBR rules: “I know that you believe you understand what you think I said, but I'm not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant.”--Robert McCloskey |
|
|||
Quote:
I prefer to accept the common usage of the language. The rulesmakers said SHALL, and I believe they meant it. I understand the lack of specific penalty, nonetheless, by rule they SHALL take signs from the rubber. |
|
|||
I posted it and have been away from the computer all day.
I think the rule is poorly worded. If you "cannot" do something then, there has to be a consequence. I called my friend and he told me a little more. The BU actually tried the "Don't do that." and the coach asked for time and said "There is no penalty in the book that deals with this." |
|
|||
"That's correct, coach. However, the book does provide a penalty for refusing to comply when I direct him not to do that again."
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Quote:
Pitchers shall take signs from the catcher while in contact with the pitcher’s plate. So if he's getting signs from the catcher he must do it from the rubber. But where does it say he can't get signs from someone else? Where does it say he has to be on the rubber when getting a sign from someone else? The rule seems to only cover signs received from the catcher. Do you think it means he must get a sign i.e. is giving/getting a sign required?
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
Quote:
It is, indeed, mandatory that F1 [at least appear to] take a sign [from F2] while engaged/ on the rubber. There is, however, nothing in the Rules that PROHIBITS F1 from taking a sign before engaging, nor taking one from the dugout, his dad or girlfriend in the stands, or The Great Hairy Thunderer; AS LONG AS he ALSO takes [or appears to take] a sign from F2 while engaged and before pitching. Since anything other than a quick pitch will be interpreted [by any competent umpire] as "taking a sign", the mandatory portion of the Rule is complied with. |
|
|||
Yes, but does Maggie May get any dirtier when she's played backwards? Holy I am the Eggman, Batman!
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25 |
|
|||
Quote:
Your "coach-umpire" conversation is correct. Furthermore, when F1 is straddling the pitching plate he is an infielder and not a pitcher. Now let us go one step further: "F1 is clearly straddling the pitcher's plate, leaning in and taking signs. F1 then makes intentional contact with the pitcher's plate, leans in and takes or simulates taking signs from F2." Has F1 violated any thing in NFHS Rule 6? OR "F1 is clearly straddling the pitcher's plate, leaning in and taking signs. F1 then makes intentional contact with the pitcher's plate, and immediately throws a pitch to the batter." Has F1 violated any thing in NFHS Rule 6? The answer to the former is NO, and the answer to the latter is YES. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
Quote:
That is incorrect. There are several such statements in the book, the requirement of the pitcher taking signs from the rubber being just one. Feel free to ingore the rule if you'd like, but to insist it isn't there is BS. |
|
|||
Quote:
The intent of the rule is to keep the pitcher from quick pitching. How many pitchers only throw one pitch and get no signs from the catcher? As long as he gives the batter ample time, its well within the intent of the rule. |
|
|||
Quote:
Runners also need ample time and are generally taught not to leave the bag until the pitcher's on the rubber. It's deceiving and it's against the rules for more than one reason. |
|
|||
Runners are (should be) coached that the can start their lead as soon as the pitcher is on or astride the rubber - because it's a balk if he doesn't have the ball. Even if he quick-pitches, the runners willl still have their lead established.
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Balk/No Balk: LHP fients pickoff the 3rd base | Mike6221 | Baseball | 4 | Sun Jun 07, 2009 09:47pm |
RHP in stretch facing 1st base (balk or no balk) | tem_blue | Baseball | 6 | Thu Jul 20, 2006 10:00pm |
Stealing Home, P in Windup, Balk or No Balk? | johnnyg08 | Baseball | 2 | Wed Jul 05, 2006 10:12am |
Was this a Balk ? I called it a Balk. | nickrego | Baseball | 20 | Fri May 12, 2006 06:07am |
Balk, Balk Yells the Coach!!! | Gre144 | Baseball | 12 | Tue Jul 10, 2001 07:32am |