Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Your "coach-umpire" conversation is correct. Furthermore, when F1 is straddling the pitching plate he is an infielder and not a pitcher. Now let us go one step further:
"F1 is clearly straddling the pitcher's plate, leaning in and taking signs. F1 then makes intentional contact with the pitcher's plate, leans in and takes or simulates taking signs from F2." Has F1 violated any thing in NFHS Rule 6?
OR
"F1 is clearly straddling the pitcher's plate, leaning in and taking signs. F1 then makes intentional contact with the pitcher's plate, and immediately throws a pitch to the batter." Has F1 violated any thing in NFHS Rule 6?
The answer to the former is NO, and the answer to the latter is YES.
MTD, Sr.
|
You seem to believe that because a penalty is not specifically mentioned, that a written statement in the rulebook doesn't exist.
That is incorrect.
There are several such statements in the book, the requirement of the pitcher taking signs from the rubber being just one.
Feel free to ingore the rule if you'd like, but to insist it isn't there is BS.