The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 29, 2009, 07:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bishopcolle View Post
Johnnyg08 says "8-2-ART 6(d) states: that a runner MAY NOT RETURN to touch a missed base or one left too soon on a caught fly ball if:

1. he has reached a base beyond the base missed or left too soon and the ball becomes dead,
2. he has left the field of play, or
3. a following runner has scored.
"

What is our mechanic when R1 is attempting to steal second base, the pitched ball is nailed to deep left who makes the catch...R1 had attained second base, sees the catch and reverts to first base when the ball goes dead on an overthrow to F3? He MAY NOT RETURN on this play, correct? But he IS returning, so what do we do? What mechanic(s) is correct here?
1) Assuming we're talking about FED rules, it's not clear from your description ("R1 reverts to first when the ball goes dead") whether R1 may return. If, at the time the ball entered DBT, R1 was still on or beyond second, then you are correct -- R1 may not legally return (see 2a, below). If, at the time the ball entered DBT, R1 was between first and second, R1 may return (see 2b below).

2a) (R1 not allowed to legally return) It's not covered, afaik, in the FED mechanics manual. I would just treat it as any other ball out of play -- "Time. You -- third base." Then watch and see what happens. Even if R1 returns to first, then touches second and advances to third, the defense is allowed to appeal at first. If they do so correctly (and since the ball is dead it won't take much to make a correct appeal), call R1 out.

2b) (R1 allowed to legally return) Treat it as any ball out of play -- "Time. You -- third base." Then watch and see what happens. If R1 touches frist, then second, then third, he has fulfilled his base running responsibilities (on this play) and no appeal will be upheld. If he, for example, turns right around and touches second and then third (without "retouching" first), rule on any appeal.

3) If the rules code is NCAA or OBR, then R1 is allowed to return to first no matter where he is when (at the time that) the ball becomes dead. It's only his actions AFTER the ball becomes dead that might place a restriction on his return.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Retouch after 3rd out bossman72 Baseball 3 Sun Oct 21, 2007 06:02pm
Fake tag and no retouch TriggerMN Baseball 2 Tue May 16, 2006 05:11pm
Retouch on Lead-off? rwou812 Baseball 7 Mon May 23, 2005 08:36am
Help with retouch/no retouch Leecedar Baseball 8 Sun Mar 20, 2005 09:37pm
Retouch ? Bandit Softball 2 Fri Feb 23, 2001 11:03pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:48pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1