The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 18, 2009, 02:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 151
DH Substitution

Just wanted to check and see if I kicked this one. FED rules, DH batting in the 4 slot for the pitcher. In the 5th inning, coach wants to bring the DH in to pitch and send the pitcher to play right field (original F9 to come out of the game).

Sorry coach, can't do that because they are both locked into the 4 slot in the order and your right fielder is batting 7th. Your pitcher can't move down to the 7 hole.

So instead he wants to make the old pitcher the DH and the old DH the pitcher.

Sorry coach, when the DH comes in to the field, you no longer have a DH, your old pitcher would be out of the game.

Although he agreed with my ruling on his first option, he continued to object with my ruling on the second option. He did pull the pitcher and let the original DH pitch and bat in the 4 hole, left F9 in as well. But he continued to complain that I was wrong on the DH and fielder not being able to swap places.

Pretty sure I still got this right but always like feedback from the forum to confirm or correct.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 18, 2009, 02:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,230
You got it correct (in the world of FED)

-Josh
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 18, 2009, 02:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 231
I don't think you got that one right Fritz. The DH is locked into the 4th spot in the order because that is where he has been batting all game, but the Pitcher is not if he was being DH'd for. If coach wants the DH to come in and pitch, he will stay at the 4th slot and then the former pitcher will bat in the #7 slot for the former right fielder who has left the game.
__________________
"You are only one call away from controversy"
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 18, 2009, 03:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by Huskerblue View Post
I don't think you got that one right Fritz. The DH is locked into the 4th spot in the order because that is where he has been batting all game, but the Pitcher is not if he was being DH'd for. If coach wants the DH to come in and pitch, he will stay at the 4th slot and then the former pitcher will bat in the #7 slot for the former right fielder who has left the game.
Huskerblue,

That is absolutely incorrect for FED rules.

As jdmara said, Fritz was correct in his ruling.

From FED 3-1-4

Quote:
...A designated hitter and the player for whom he is batting are locked into the batting order. No multiple substitutions may be made that will alter the batting order. ...
JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 18, 2009, 03:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Lincoln NE
Posts: 210
How much Fed rules have you worked?

Husker, you are correct for OBR and college, but Fed is Different. The old double switch does not work in this case. As was stated previously, once the DH enters on defense, the DH is terminated in Fed.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 18, 2009, 03:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 231
I stand corrected.
__________________
"You are only one call away from controversy"
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 19, 2009, 01:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 151
Good point Robert, I wasn't even thinking of OBR since this was a FED game. But in my OP, if we are under OBR, the DH in the 4 hole comes into pitch and stays batting in the 4 hole. DH tag is no longer available. F1 goes to right to replace F9 and now bats in the 7 hole. This is all legal correct?

However, under all codes, when DH comes in on defense for the person he is batting for, that person cannot then go to the bench and become the DH, correct?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 19, 2009, 01:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: The 503
Posts: 785
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fritz View Post
Good point Robert, I wasn't even thinking of OBR since this was a FED game. But in my OP, if we are under OBR, the DH in the 4 hole comes into pitch and stays batting in the 4 hole. DH tag is no longer available. F1 goes to right to replace F9 and now bats in the 7 hole. This is all legal correct?

However, under all codes, when DH comes in on defense for the person he is batting for, that person cannot then go to the bench and become the DH, correct?
Right. Once the DH plays defense his team loses the DH role.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 20, 2009, 08:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,621
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fritz View Post
But in my OP, if we are under OBR, ... F1 goes to right to replace F9 and now bats in the 7 hole. This is all legal correct?
Yes, provided the player who was F9 was batting in the 7 spot.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Substitution waltjp Football 1 Sat Oct 22, 2005 10:55pm
Substitution! In for #71... BigRygg Football 2 Sun Sep 25, 2005 02:11pm
Substitution Nyjets Football 4 Wed Sep 08, 2004 09:56am
Substitution dr_donald_t Softball 1 Fri May 30, 2003 08:57am
Substitution PP Basketball 3 Tue Oct 02, 2001 04:00pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:31am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1