The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 08, 2004, 07:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 21
During a dead ball interval, can A42 who was one of the eleven players who participated in the previous play, come off the field, get a drink of water, and go back to the huddle to participate in the next play? Isn't this a dead ball illegal substitution foul since the rule states no player may withdraw and reenter as a substitute during the same dead ball interval unless a penalty is accepted, a dead ball foul occurs, or a time out is taken? Your thoughts would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 08, 2004, 08:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 140
Illegal - if A42 attempts to come back on the field, inform his coach that he has to stay out for one play. If they refuse to comply, it is illegal substitution and it is a liveball foul simultaneous with the snap. If a charged team time out is granted to either team, A42 may re-enter and play.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 08, 2004, 09:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 21
This wouldn't be a live ball foul, but a dead ball illegal substitution foul. Why do you say it would be live ball? Is this player allowed to return since he is still a player and was never a replaced player? If he came out by mistake and left 10 players out on the field, and then realized he shouldn't have come out, can he return legally?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 08, 2004, 09:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 107
Quote:
Originally posted by Nyjets
Isn't this a dead ball illegal substitution foul since the rule states no player may withdraw and reenter as a substitute during the same dead ball interval unless a penalty is accepted, a dead ball foul occurs, or a time out is taken?
Technically, this is legal... Your summary of 3-7-4 is accurate, but the key phrase is "as a substitute"... Since the player in question was never replaced, he is still considered a player, and not a substitute... Therefore, this does not apply...

We had a lengthy discussion about a similar play a while back, but I don't know the link to the thread...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 08, 2004, 09:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 140
Quote:
Originally posted by Nyjets
This wouldn't be a live ball foul, but a dead ball illegal substitution foul. Why do you say it would be live ball? Is this player allowed to return since he is still a player and was never a replaced player? If he came out by mistake and left 10 players out on the field, and then realized he shouldn't have come out, can he return legally?
This is not like the Ill. Sub. that is 5 yards if killed before the snap but 15 yards for Ill. Participation after the snap. It is only 5 yard. If you flag it as a dead ball prior to the snap, you have taken away the teams oppurtunity to make themselves legal by making a proper substitution
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:02am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1