![]() |
|
|
|||
my understanding of this rule is this:
IF the ball never touches the batter: Then the ball can be ruled fair if it stops in the upper corners of the batter's box that lies in fair territory. IF the ball touches the batter: Case 1: Batter is not COMPLETELY outside of his batter's box, then it is a dead ball and an automatic strike except for the fact that the automatic strike CANNOT be Strike 3. Case 2: Batter is completely outside of his batter's box, then he's out. And no, the other batter's box does not count. Batter is only protected while inside the box that he's using. |
|
|||
Wouldn't that be the same as a foul ball?
|
|
|||
it is the same as a foul ball but it's not a foul ball. It's a subtlety that a veteran umpire pointed out to me because we're supposed to yell "Dead Ball" instead of "Foul Ball" b/c it's not technically a foul ball. It's a dead ball strike except that it cannot count as strike 3.
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25 |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
It would benefit you to understand this so you don't get confused on future similar rulings. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Batters Box | rottiron01 | Softball | 1 | Wed Mar 29, 2006 12:13pm |
Where did my batters box go??? | baldgriff | Softball | 4 | Mon Mar 27, 2006 08:22pm |
Batters box | Roger Bridges | Softball | 13 | Sun Jan 02, 2005 08:50am |
Out of Batters Box | CD_Ump | Softball | 9 | Wed Jun 09, 2004 05:54am |
Batters box | TERRY1 | Softball | 11 | Wed Apr 17, 2002 12:02pm |