![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
The official interpretation I received from JE is this. When a batter has one foot on the ground completely out of the box, he is considered out of the box. Being contacted by a fair batted ball results in an out. Anything else, he is considered in the box and the result is a foul ball.
|
|
|||
|
Which seems to conflict with the ruling from other sources. It also conflicts with the notion of where the ball is when it contacts a runner.
Stuff to ponder... * Batter hits the ball into the dirt right in the batter's box. Ball comes up and hits him while he's still in the box but in the part of the box that's in fair territory. How many guys would call this a foul ball? An out? * Batter hits the ball into the dirt in front of him. As he's running to leave the box, the ball bounces up and hits him while he's still in that part of the box that's in fair territory, but his right foot is out of the box. Who would call this foul? Who would call him out? * Batter hits a ball that just dies in the dirt. It spins on the ground and is lying in the box in the part that's in fair territory. Batter's running to first but in so doing steps on the ball with his foot while his other foot is (a) also still in the box or (b) outside the box on the ground. Who would call this a foul ball in (a) or (b)? Who would call him out in (a) or (b)? Decisions, decisions.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
There's a FED case play to this exact effect. |
|
|||
|
Excellent.
Bob, Could you please give me the case number? I have one duck that wants to get out of line. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I don't have the books handy, so I'll respond under the spirit of "teach a man to fish...". The batter has hit the ball, so he's a BR. The "A BR is out when ..." rule is 8-4-1. So, I'd look at cases 8.4.1 |
|
|||
|
I'm going to read until FED Rule 5,7,8 for FED...somebody else take OBR...
The Dead Ball portion of FED doesn't tell us a whole lot. FED p. 46, 7-3-ART 2 states that a batter shall not hit the ball fair or foul while either foot is touching the ground completely outside the lines of the batter's box or touching home plate. Case 7.3.2 Sitch A, Case 7.3.2 Sitch C,
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again Last edited by johnnyg08; Sun May 17, 2009 at 09:22am. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
That's for batting the ball while out of the box. The OP is for being hit by the batted ball. Completely different. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Batters Box | rottiron01 | Softball | 1 | Wed Mar 29, 2006 12:13pm |
| Where did my batters box go??? | baldgriff | Softball | 4 | Mon Mar 27, 2006 08:22pm |
| Batters box | Roger Bridges | Softball | 13 | Sun Jan 02, 2005 08:50am |
| Out of Batters Box | CD_Ump | Softball | 9 | Wed Jun 09, 2004 05:54am |
| Batters box | TERRY1 | Softball | 11 | Wed Apr 17, 2002 12:02pm |