![]() |
|
|
|||
Technically correct?
But I would not be splitting hairs if I do point out that those words do matter if one were to look up the exact definition of a fair or foul batted ball.
The correct ruling regards a batted ball redirecting from the ground into the B/R or B/R's bat. It is ruled a foul ball just prior to hitting the B/R outside of the batter's box in these situations. This is the case of the swinging shot directly into the B/R's lower left leg while over fair territory. The B/R is ruled out much more often for running into a fair "bunted" ball bounding in front of the plate. The batter's box is not a refuge and He does not have the right to a direct path to the nearest base through the bounding baseball. The runner must avoid contact with the batted ball. The same ruling would apply to any runner contacting a baseball while over fair territory.
__________________
SAump ![]() Last edited by SAump; Sat May 16, 2009 at 07:47pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
I don't think I could look the coach in the eye w/ a straight face and tell him that "well, you know, 13% of the batter's box is in fair territory...therefore..."
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
|
|||
Neither could I. I mentioned that more so as a slightly humorous take on the whole batter's box situation. Plus, Jaksa himself explained that in class at umpire school. (You had to be there. Jaksa was kind of a brainiac/nerdy guy, but in a good sense.)
|
|
|||
my understanding of this rule is this:
IF the ball never touches the batter: Then the ball can be ruled fair if it stops in the upper corners of the batter's box that lies in fair territory. IF the ball touches the batter: Case 1: Batter is not COMPLETELY outside of his batter's box, then it is a dead ball and an automatic strike except for the fact that the automatic strike CANNOT be Strike 3. Case 2: Batter is completely outside of his batter's box, then he's out. And no, the other batter's box does not count. Batter is only protected while inside the box that he's using. |
|
|||
Wouldn't that be the same as a foul ball?
|
|
|||
it is the same as a foul ball but it's not a foul ball. It's a subtlety that a veteran umpire pointed out to me because we're supposed to yell "Dead Ball" instead of "Foul Ball" b/c it's not technically a foul ball. It's a dead ball strike except that it cannot count as strike 3.
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25 |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
It would benefit you to understand this so you don't get confused on future similar rulings. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Batters Box | rottiron01 | Softball | 1 | Wed Mar 29, 2006 12:13pm |
Where did my batters box go??? | baldgriff | Softball | 4 | Mon Mar 27, 2006 08:22pm |
Batters box | Roger Bridges | Softball | 13 | Sun Jan 02, 2005 08:50am |
Out of Batters Box | CD_Ump | Softball | 9 | Wed Jun 09, 2004 05:54am |
Batters box | TERRY1 | Softball | 11 | Wed Apr 17, 2002 12:02pm |