| 
 
			
			I am a manager of an amature men's (adult) baseball league.  We play by Major League Rules (American League).  I was coaching 3rd base, and a runner on 1st.  The left handed pitcher was going from the stretch.  When coming to the set position, the pitcher didn't pause.  I asked the umpire he was balking, and for him to keep an eye on it.  The pitcher did it 2 more times and I mentioned it.  He said nothing was wrong.  I then asked him "Does the pitcher have to pause?"  He said no.  The plate umpire then yelled down that it was a judgement call.  Now, since the base umpire said that the pitcher does not need to pause, is that protestable since the umpire is getting the rule wrong.  I know a pause is a judgement call, but if the pitcher doesn't pause and gets away with it because the umpire uses the rule wrong, doesn't that mean the umpire got the rule wrong?
 Coach&Blue
 |