The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 25, 2002, 12:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 25
Send a message via AIM to Coach&Blue
Question

I am a manager of an amature men's (adult) baseball league. We play by Major League Rules (American League). I was coaching 3rd base, and a runner on 1st. The left handed pitcher was going from the stretch. When coming to the set position, the pitcher didn't pause. I asked the umpire he was balking, and for him to keep an eye on it. The pitcher did it 2 more times and I mentioned it. He said nothing was wrong. I then asked him "Does the pitcher have to pause?" He said no. The plate umpire then yelled down that it was a judgement call. Now, since the base umpire said that the pitcher does not need to pause, is that protestable since the umpire is getting the rule wrong. I know a pause is a judgement call, but if the pitcher doesn't pause and gets away with it because the umpire uses the rule wrong, doesn't that mean the umpire got the rule wrong?

Coach&Blue
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1