The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Balk Ruling. Judgement or Rule? (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/5264-balk-ruling-judgement-rule.html)

Coach&Blue Tue Jun 25, 2002 12:52pm

I am a manager of an amature men's (adult) baseball league. We play by Major League Rules (American League). I was coaching 3rd base, and a runner on 1st. The left handed pitcher was going from the stretch. When coming to the set position, the pitcher didn't pause. I asked the umpire he was balking, and for him to keep an eye on it. The pitcher did it 2 more times and I mentioned it. He said nothing was wrong. I then asked him "Does the pitcher have to pause?" He said no. The plate umpire then yelled down that it was a judgement call. Now, since the base umpire said that the pitcher does not need to pause, is that protestable since the umpire is getting the rule wrong. I know a pause is a judgement call, but if the pitcher doesn't pause and gets away with it because the umpire uses the rule wrong, doesn't that mean the umpire got the rule wrong?

Coach&Blue

mick Tue Jun 25, 2002 01:16pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Coach&Blue