The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 10, 2009, 07:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 387
Make your normal safe call because the runner IS safe until a proper and timely appeal by the defense.

Runner is assumed to have legally acquired a base when passing, even if missed, until properly appealed.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 10, 2009, 07:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: SW Kansas
Posts: 728
Quote:
Originally Posted by socalblue1 View Post
Runner is assumed to have legally acquired a base when passing, even if missed, until properly appealed.
Got a rules reference for this? I don't believe a runner has a base until he touches it.

Last edited by DonInKansas; Tue Mar 10, 2009 at 07:38pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 10, 2009, 07:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 755
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonInKansas View Post
Got a rules reference for this? I don't believe a runner has a base until he touches it.
My thinking exactly. If the defense touches the base, accidentally or on purpose, before the runner returns, I find it hard to believe that I can't call him out. This is rewarding the offense for messing up.

That said, if the defense never touches the bag (or the runner), I've got nothing. The runner will return and touch the bag.

What's the mechanic for the same play at the plate? AFAIK, I make no call until:

1) The runner enters the dugout
2) The runner comes back and touches the plate
3) The defense tags the runner (or the plate if he's making no effort to return)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 11, 2009, 12:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 1,772
Quote:
Originally Posted by yawetag View Post
My thinking exactly. If the defense touches the base, accidentally or on purpose, before the runner returns, I find it hard to believe that I can't call him out. This is rewarding the offense for messing up.

That said, if the defense never touches the bag (or the runner), I've got nothing. The runner will return and touch the bag.

What's the mechanic for the same play at the plate? AFAIK, I make no call until:

1) The runner enters the dugout
2) The runner comes back and touches the plate
3) The defense tags the runner (or the plate if he's making no effort to return)

FED used to use the accidental appeal; however, they have since taken it out. I will have to look up the references, don't have my books with me, but I think it was a couple of years ago.

thanks
David
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 12, 2009, 09:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 727
Quote:
Originally Posted by David B View Post
FED used to use the accidental appeal; however, they have since taken it out. I will have to look up the references, don't have my books with me, but I think it was a couple of years ago.

thanks
David
I thought that, too, and was looking for the rule reference, but found this instead:

Casebook 8.2.3 Situation: B1 hits a slow roller to F5 and arrivs safely but misses first base. F3 catches the ball with his foot off the base and casually steps on first base, although he believes the runner has beaten the throw. RULING: B1 is out. Because a force play is being made on the runner and the result of continuing action, F3 is required to appeal the missed base and does so by stepping on the missed base.

This sounds like an accidental appeal to me.
__________________
"Not all heroes have time to pose for sculptors...some still have papers to grade."
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 12, 2009, 10:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
That's FED for ya. Clear as mud.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 12, 2009, 11:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NY state
Posts: 1,504
Quote:
Originally Posted by TwoBits View Post
I thought that, too, and was looking for the rule reference, but found this instead:

Casebook 8.2.3 Situation: B1 hits a slow roller to F5 and arrivs safely but misses first base. F3 catches the ball with his foot off the base and casually steps on first base, although he believes the runner has beaten the throw. RULING: B1 is out. Because a force play is being made on the runner and the result of continuing action, F3 is required to appeal the missed base and does so by stepping on the missed base.

This sounds like an accidental appeal to me.
When FED removed the accidental appeal from the rule book they neglected to delete that situation from the casebook. Elliot Hopkis acknowledged that fact and issued a statement that that ruling was no longer accurate. He issued a statement again the next year when that situation still appeared in the book

Why it remains unedited to this date is a mystery, but the fact is the accidental appeal has been removed from the rule book, and that was a POE at the time.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 12, 2009, 11:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrUmpire View Post
When FED removed the accidental appeal from the rule book they neglected to delete that situation from the casebook. Elliot Hopkis acknowledged that fact and issued a statement that that ruling was no longer accurate. He issued a statement again the next year when that situation still appeared in the book

Why it remains unedited to this date is a mystery, but the fact is the accidental appeal has been removed from the rule book, and that was a POE at the time.
This is correct. You can X out that case play if you like: it is no longer a valid ruling.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 13, 2009, 09:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 727
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrUmpire View Post
When FED removed the accidental appeal from the rule book they neglected to delete that situation from the casebook. Elliot Hopkis acknowledged that fact and issued a statement that that ruling was no longer accurate. He issued a statement again the next year when that situation still appeared in the book

Why it remains unedited to this date is a mystery, but the fact is the accidental appeal has been removed from the rule book, and that was a POE at the time.
That is confusing. I guess its good for us umpires that coaches don't read rule books.
__________________
"Not all heroes have time to pose for sculptors...some still have papers to grade."
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 16, 2009, 07:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 1,936
Send a message via Yahoo to waltjp
Quote:
Originally Posted by TwoBits View Post
I thought that, too, and was looking for the rule reference, but found this instead:

Casebook 8.2.3 Situation: B1 hits a slow roller to F5 and arrives safely but misses first base. F3 catches the ball with his foot off the base and casually steps on first base, although he believes the runner has beaten the throw. RULING: B1 is out. Because a force play is being made on the runner and the result of continuing action, F3 is required to appeal the missed base and does so by stepping on the missed base.

This sounds like an accidental appeal to me.
Another case play -

8.4.2 SITUATION B: With R1 at first, B2 hits a double into right center, sending R1 to third. However, R1 misses second base. F6 is standing on second when he catches the throw from the outfield. He then throws the ball to the pitcher.
RULING: Although R1 missed second, no call will be made by the umpire because F6 did not make an intentional appeal of the missed base.
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Missed base - what to do, what to do? Linknblue Softball 36 Fri Aug 01, 2008 04:33pm
Missed first base blueump Baseball 79 Thu May 17, 2007 12:54pm
Missed base Robert G Baseball 4 Mon Aug 20, 2001 12:31pm
Missed base Dakota Softball 13 Mon May 21, 2001 11:06am
Missed base David Van Milligen Baseball 14 Wed May 16, 2001 12:35pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:40am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1