![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
That said, if the defense never touches the bag (or the runner), I've got nothing. The runner will return and touch the bag. What's the mechanic for the same play at the plate? AFAIK, I make no call until: 1) The runner enters the dugout 2) The runner comes back and touches the plate 3) The defense tags the runner (or the plate if he's making no effort to return) |
|
|||
Quote:
FED used to use the accidental appeal; however, they have since taken it out. I will have to look up the references, don't have my books with me, but I think it was a couple of years ago. thanks David |
|
|||
Quote:
Casebook 8.2.3 Situation: B1 hits a slow roller to F5 and arrivs safely but misses first base. F3 catches the ball with his foot off the base and casually steps on first base, although he believes the runner has beaten the throw. RULING: B1 is out. Because a force play is being made on the runner and the result of continuing action, F3 is required to appeal the missed base and does so by stepping on the missed base. This sounds like an accidental appeal to me.
__________________
"Not all heroes have time to pose for sculptors...some still have papers to grade." |
|
|||
Quote:
Why it remains unedited to this date is a mystery, but the fact is the accidental appeal has been removed from the rule book, and that was a POE at the time. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
So let me get this straight so I don't look like the rookie umpire:
BR misses 1B without defense tag of base or runner before BR passes: Signal safe and wait for an appeal. BR misses 1B with purposeful tag of base or runner after BR passes (no verbal appeal is made): Signal safe and wait for verbal appeal. BR misses 1B with appeal: Call BR out on appeal. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
"Not all heroes have time to pose for sculptors...some still have papers to grade." |
|
|||
Quote:
Also on the FED site, you have the Interpretations posted on the internet that clarify some of the mistakes etc., NCAA does a good job of addressing changes several times a year, problems that are occuring. FED should follow suit. But as you stated, coaches don't know the rule so you don't have anything to worry about. .. ![]() Thanks David |
|
|||
No. The rulebook has it right. It's the casebook that wasn't corrected.
|
|
|||
The ones I deal with don't read either.
__________________
"Not all heroes have time to pose for sculptors...some still have papers to grade." |
|
|||
Quote:
8.4.2 SITUATION B: With R1 at first, B2 hits a double into right center, sending R1 to third. However, R1 misses second base. F6 is standing on second when he catches the throw from the outfield. He then throws the ball to the pitcher. RULING: Although R1 missed second, no call will be made by the umpire because F6 did not make an intentional appeal of the missed base.
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell! |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Missed base - what to do, what to do? | Linknblue | Softball | 36 | Fri Aug 01, 2008 04:33pm |
Missed first base | blueump | Baseball | 79 | Thu May 17, 2007 12:54pm |
Missed base | Robert G | Baseball | 4 | Mon Aug 20, 2001 12:31pm |
Missed base | Dakota | Softball | 13 | Mon May 21, 2001 11:06am |
Missed base | David Van Milligen | Baseball | 14 | Wed May 16, 2001 12:35pm |