The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 23, 2009, 07:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Wharton, TX
Posts: 92
Does this run score?

Not an actual situation, but a play that came up in a rules discussion - NFHS rules:

R1 at 3rd, R2 at 2nd with 1 out. B1 hits a fly ball to center field. CF catches the ball for out number 2, R1 and R2 tag but R1 leaves early. R1 scores easily and the throw from CF to 3rd base goes out of play allowing R2 to score. The defense makes a dead ball appeal that R1 left early, and the appeal is upheld. Do any runs score?

I say that the run does not score (even though it is a timing situation - not a force out) since the 3rd out was made on a preceding runner (NFHS 9.9.1c)

Did I give the proper answer?
__________________
Herb McCown
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 23, 2009, 07:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

TxUmp,

You are correct.

Also, lose the "R1 at 3rd" terminology.

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 23, 2009, 07:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Wharton, TX
Posts: 92
R1 at 3rd

I agree that this is bad terminology, but I merely used cut-and-paste to forward the question I was asked.

It probably came from an NFHS test, therefore the confusing terminology.
__________________
Herb McCown

Last edited by TxUmp; Mon Feb 23, 2009 at 07:21pm. Reason: Spelling and spacing
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 23, 2009, 08:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,895


I always re-word a confusing question and then answer the question the way it was supposed to be worded.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 23, 2009, 08:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,577
Where's the ball?

I understand that a verbal appeal may be granted, i.e. "and the appeal is upheld."
Yet, here the defense threw the ball out of the playing field.
The runner cannot return to re-touch 3B.
Can the defense make a dead ball appeal without the baseball?
I probably would make no decision until the ball was put back into play.
Shouldn't I wait until the defense regains possession of the baseball before granting an appeal?
__________________
SAump

Last edited by SAump; Mon Feb 23, 2009 at 08:37pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 23, 2009, 08:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAump View Post
I understand that a verbal appeal may be granted, i.e. "and the appeal is upheld."
Yet, here the defense threw the ball out of the playing field.
The runner cannot return to re-touch 3B.
Can the defense make a dead ball appeal without the baseball?
I probably would make no decision until the ball was put back into play.
Shouldn't I wait until the defense regains possession of the baseball before granting an appeal?
Why go through all of this. This is a FED game and a dead ball appeal should be upheld.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 23, 2009, 09:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 469
You don't need a ball for the coach to say "hey, ump, he left early" - that's FED, man - dead ball appeal should be upheld. Runner can't return to touch 3rd anyway - a following runner has crossed home.

To answer the question (again) you are correct.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 23, 2009, 09:19pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,973
how about this? could they appeal R3 at 3rd base (alleging that he left early), then appeal R2 (who did leave early) for the 3rd out to nullify the run?
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 23, 2009, 09:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 469
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyg08 View Post
how about this? could they appeal R3 at 3rd base (alleging that he left early), then appeal R2 (who did leave early) for the 3rd out to nullify the run?
Yes they could make those appeals. No it would not nullify a run, because it is a timing play (no force involved) and R3 has scored prior to the appeal.

I am assuming you mean R3 had not left early, the appeal is not upheld, so they then appeal R2.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 23, 2009, 10:10pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,973
yep, R3 safe on appeal, then they appeal R2...I know that they can appeal (not sure that's how I phrased my question though)...but it does not nullify the run?
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 23, 2009, 10:15pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by TxUmp View Post
Not an actual situation, but a play that came up in a rules discussion - NFHS rules:

R1 at 3rd, R2 at 2nd with 1 out. B1 hits a fly ball to center field. CF catches the ball for out number 2, R1 and R2 tag but R1 leaves early. R1 scores easily and the throw from CF to 3rd base goes out of play allowing R2 to score. The defense makes a dead ball appeal that R1 left early, and the appeal is upheld. Do any runs score?

I say that the run does not score (even though it is a timing situation - not a force out) since the 3rd out was made on a preceding runner (NFHS 9.9.1c)

Did I give the proper answer?
Correct call, but I'm not sure what you mean by timing situation. R1 is out on appeal, and R2 did not score on a timing, he scored on an award due to throw going into dead ball so the appeal wipes out the award.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 24, 2009, 01:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 465
Send a message via AIM to bobbybanaduck
paaaaaaaaaaancakes. r1 lives on 1b. always. argh.
__________________
"To dee chowers!!"
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 24, 2009, 05:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobbybanaduck View Post
paaaaaaaaaaancakes. r1 lives on 1b. always. argh.
Yep, unless your in Fedlandia!!!!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 24, 2009, 11:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 469
Quote:
Originally Posted by ManInBlue View Post
No it would not nullify a run, because it is a timing play (no force involved) and R3 has scored prior to the appeal.
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyg08 View Post
yep, R3 safe on appeal, then they appeal R2...I know that they can appeal (not sure that's how I phrased my question though)...but it does not nullify the run?
I answered that part too.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 02, 2009, 11:03pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,973
lets take this exact situation (OP), but the defense appeals that R3 left early for the 3rd out after R2 and R3 cross the plate. Does R2 score since it is a time play and not a force out?
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does this run score? monfanz Baseball 6 Thu Mar 29, 2007 10:17am
Does run score? tmckeon Baseball 9 Mon Mar 26, 2007 02:17pm
Score Out? soclueless Basketball 11 Mon Feb 12, 2007 02:59pm
Does this run score... SamNVa Softball 17 Tue Sep 10, 2002 09:45pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1