The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 29, 2008, 11:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Newburgh NY
Posts: 1,822
Quote:
Quote:
Originally Posted by tWVU_Fan View Post
This play happened about 20 years ago in my son's Babe Ruth League game.
Situation: Tie game bottom of the 7th(final inning)1 out, bases loaded. Batter hits a fly to left which is caught for out #2. Everyone in the park sees the runner from 3rd leave early and he beats the throw to the plate with the winning run. The runner from 2nd advanced to 3rd base on the throw home. The coach yells at his team to stay on the field and he calls time, goes to the mound for a conference to tell the pitcher proper mechanics for an appeal play. The pitcher gets the ball, steps back off the rubber and the runner from 3rd breaks for home, the pitcher throws the ball to the catcher and the runner is tagged out. The ump calls game over. The coach is wanting to continue and make the appeal but the ump tells him it's too late.
What is the correct ruling??
I am having trouble with this (what else is new)

As soon as R3 crossed the plate the game is OVER. It was the last inning game tied and R3 crossed the plate. The only purpose for the defense taking the Field again or staying on the field, would be to appeal R3 otherwise the defense might just as well line-up and shake hands.

It makes absolutely no sense.

As others mentioned if the defense played on R2 they lose their right to appeal. In fact a case could be made that as soon as the umpire saw F1 throw to F2 to retire the NEW R3, he could have called TIME and simply said - Game over.

In FED the point would be moot because the coach can make a dead ball appeal. Also, if the offense initiates the 'action" the defense does not lose their right to appeal.

All in all I have no idea why the defense would even bother with R2 now on third base as he means absolutely nothing.

Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 30, 2008, 09:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Upper Midwest
Posts: 928
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeteBooth View Post
I am having trouble with this (what else is new)

As soon as R3 crossed the plate the game is OVER. It was the last inning game tied and R3 crossed the plate. The only purpose for the defense taking the Field again or staying on the field, would be to appeal R3 otherwise the defense might just as well line-up and shake hands.

It makes absolutely no sense.

As others mentioned if the defense played on R2 they lose their right to appeal. In fact a case could be made that as soon as the umpire saw F1 throw to F2 to retire the NEW R3, he could have called TIME and simply said - Game over.

In FED the point would be moot because the coach can make a dead ball appeal. Also, if the offense initiates the 'action" the defense does not lose their right to appeal.

All in all I have no idea why the defense would even bother with R2 now on third base as he means absolutely nothing.

Pete Booth
Okay, then...

If the game is over, excepting appeal, is R2 still R2? After all, he has no ability to legally run bases, and cannot be put out.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 07:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt View Post
Okay, then...

If the game is over, excepting appeal, is R2 still R2? After all, he has no ability to legally run bases, and cannot be put out.
But he can be DECLARED out for a base-running infraction.

And, I'm not sure your original premise is valid anyway:

Play: Tie game, bottom of the last, 2 outs, R3. B4 grouonds to the hole at short. In order: R3 crosses the plate, then F6 throws to F3 who steps on first before B4 reaches first. If the game ends as soon as R3 touches home, then B4 can't be put out and the run counts.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 08:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt View Post
Okay, then...

If the game is over, excepting appeal, is R2 still R2? After all, he has no ability to legally run bases, and cannot be put out.
R2 is irrelevant, but he's still R2. He can't be put out (there are already 3 outs and he can't be the advantageous 4th out), and he can't score, but he can still be played on.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Your ruling? mcrowder Softball 30 Thu Apr 12, 2007 11:06am
Ruling..... djpriceii Basketball 7 Thu Dec 14, 2006 02:09pm
HELP WITH A RULING jason181988 Baseball 12 Mon May 02, 2005 04:38pm
ruling? refTN Basketball 3 Mon Apr 04, 2005 10:58pm
What's the ruling skeeter1114 Softball 5 Fri Sep 10, 2004 09:13am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:39am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1