The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 28, 2008, 10:27pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
the homerun is not an automatic award. the base on balls is and award of first base and an additional base to those forced to advance. a home run is a free pass to advance and touch all four bases...therefore all baserunning rules apply...that's my thought...other thoughts?
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 28, 2008, 11:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
However, this play has always confused me. Contrast with this play: Bases loaded, 2 outs, Home run, the BR passes R1 before R3 touches home - this is a time play and no runs score (even though everyone was awarded home).

Can someone tell me the difference here please?


The difference is declared out versus put out.

the homerun is not an automatic award.

It is a four-base award.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 29, 2008, 12:29am
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Since it is right there in the rule book, why don't I just post the ruling and make it easy on everybody:

Rule 7.04(b) Comment: A runner forced to advance without liability to be put out may advance past the base to which he is entitled only at his peril. If such a runner, forced to advance, is put out for the third out before a preceding runner, also forced to advance, touches home plate, the run shall score.

Play. Two out, bases full, batter walks but runner from second is overzealous and runs past third base toward home and is tagged out on a throw by the catcher. Even though two are out, the run would score on the theory that the run was forced home by the base on balls and that all the runners needed to do was proceed and touch the next base.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 29, 2008, 01:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: At the base of the mountains
Posts: 377
I Dunno guys

I'll be nice....I'll be nice....I'll be nice.....

It's not working...so...ah hell never mind
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 29, 2008, 07:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
Since it is right there in the rule book, why don't I just post the ruling and make it easy on everybody:

Thank you, Steve. Good idea.

Keep in mind that if R3 (before scoring) interfered with F2's throw to third, R3 would be out and his run would not score. Or if an overzealous R1 passed R2 before R3 scored, the run would also not count.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does the run count? DeputyUICHousto Softball 18 Thu Jun 19, 2008 07:52am
count it or not? elecref Basketball 11 Fri Oct 14, 2005 09:06pm
5 second count rbmartin Basketball 12 Mon Feb 07, 2005 11:34am
Should it count? Ref in PA Basketball 25 Tue Dec 07, 2004 01:19pm
ten second count chas Basketball 8 Mon Oct 18, 2004 11:11am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:20am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1