![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
"To dee chowers!!" |
|
|||
|
Contradiction
Quote:
to tballump}.Taking away the fielder's choice to protect himself from making a bad or timely throw and ending the inning pre-maturely after the 3rd out was made at 3B is incorrect. The B/R actions are also important evidence. If he beats the throw to first, score the run. If he doesn't beat the throw to first, take it away. This becomes a protestable situation unless you can correctly justify the end of the inning. The 4th or 5th outs become the 3rd out, for all purposes, and cannot be meaninglessly tossed aside. As a manager, I would not allow my team to leave the field until my protest was recognized. PBUC recognizes that any protestable issues may cost a MiLB umpire his job. Study the OBR rules carefully, and realize that not all customs and traditions are emphasized correctly. This may be one of those 230-something errors noted in the rules by J/R and others.
__________________
SAump
Last edited by SAump; Tue Aug 05, 2008 at 08:15pm. |
|
|||
|
add a former chief instructor at jimmy's to the list that disagree with fitzy's interp (which, still, nobody has been able to produce and submit as evidence.) exiting discussion at this point, leaving with the summation of why we came up with what we did...
- inning ended when tag of R2 occurred (absent of any appealable offense, of course) -apparent 4th out can only occur on an appeal - B/R is not required by rule to continue running to first after the inning has ended (so this is not appealable) - B/R did not desert as evidenced by his position 1/2 way to first when the tag was applied (so we aren't banging him for desertion and ending the inning there, instead of upon the tag of R2) protest is recognized... protest on 4.09 disallowed because the 3rd out was made on R2, which satisfies 4.09a exceptions 1, 2, and 3. protest of 6.05j disallowed because the inning was over per 2.00 definition of inning protest of 7.12 disallowed because it was not the 3rd out. the 3rd out occurred when R2 was tagged.
__________________
"To dee chowers!!" |
|
|||
|
Arbitration?
Note: The third out did not terminate the inning. For example, one can apply the same OP situation and ruling w/ 1 out, instead of 2. Let us go to Rick Roder for a valid reason, 10-IV Ex 3, which has also been noted earlier by RichMSN, Bob J and others.
Quote:
BRD 410, pg 451 to 452. That, my friend, falls under res ipsa loquitur.
__________________
SAump
Last edited by SAump; Tue Aug 05, 2008 at 04:53pm. |
|
|||
|
let's try this
I think kopan99 said it best and laid it out logically. This is the closest thing I have been able to find in my library concerning this sitch.
Taken from The Wendelstedt Umpire School Manual Pg. 115 Appeals, Copyright 2008 "P22: R2, R3, two outs, 1-1 count. The batter hits a ball down the right field line. As he reaches the 45' line, the BR severely twists his ankle and falls down. R3 easily scores, and R2 touches third base and attempts to advance to the plate. The right fielder, not seeing the BR lying between home and first base, throws the ball to home plate. The throw beats R2 easily, and he is called 'out' by the plate umpire. The defense, then seeing that the BR has not yet reached first base, tags first base, appealing that he never touched it. Ruling: The umpire should not recognize this appeal. A runner cannot be appealed for 'never reaching a base'; only for not touching one on his way past it, or for not legally tagging up from it. In this situation, the third out has already been made at the plate on R2. R3's run counts. The defense is required to know that the BR has not reached first base, and if they would have retired him at first base, instead of throwing the ball to the plate to retire R2, no runs would have scored." With kopan99's rule cites and Wendelstedt's interp, I now know how I would rule on this. Last edited by UmpTTS43; Tue Aug 05, 2008 at 06:12pm. Reason: spelling and to add copyright date |
|
|||
|
From JR: Not an appeal: ... this is an advantageous fourth out and supercedes the former third out, and no run can score.
But, add in the rest of the EXAMPLE; and it's clear to see that this ruling was made on a specific play, by JR and according to NCAA.. A BR that "can not" continue to first due to injury.. So in that case I'd agree, though IMO it should simply be recognized as desertion as opposed "missing a base.. The rest of J/R 10 IV 3. "..The batter has been injured and is UNABLE to advance to first, prompting the defense to throw to first against him..." NCAA says it's an "appeal" because the runner "CAN NOT" continue.. Nothing in PBUC "appeals" comes close to this situation, rather all their examples are "missed bases, leaving early, you know the real stuff appeals are made of..
__________________
SLAS |
|
|||
|
Absolutely, Check mate!
Quote:
"IN JEOPARDY is a term indicating that the ball is in play and an offensive player may be put out." "A DOUBLE PLAY is a play by the defense in which two offensive players are put out as a result of continuous action, providing there is no error between putouts." R2 allowed himself to be tagged out by F2 {1st rule of baserunning outs}. B/R allowed himself to be thrown out by F2 at 1B {1st rule of baseball}. Using this case play and asking for a "more appropriate" OBR based ruling, what I got is a DP. Note: If rule 7.10 does not apply, then rule 7.10 has no bearing on the matter. Yet, the Wendelstedt case play continues to use rule 7.10 as the basis for making up an alternate ruling. Also skeptical of the "3rd" and final tag-out at HP ending the inning. Most baseball officianados would agree the tail-end of a double-play successfully ended the inning. Someone may address the same Wendelstedt case play with no one out or with only one out.
__________________
SAump
Last edited by SAump; Wed Aug 06, 2008 at 01:47am. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| How would you score it? | WinterWillie | Softball | 10 | Wed Aug 29, 2007 11:28pm |
| Score the run? | NSump | Baseball | 6 | Sat Dec 24, 2005 01:51pm |
| O/T Score | ljudge | Football | 6 | Thu Nov 03, 2005 09:50am |
| How do you score this? | BigUmpJohn | Softball | 4 | Sun Jun 15, 2003 03:44pm |
| Does the run score? | 18597 | Softball | 4 | Sat Sep 07, 2002 09:03am |