![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Somebody (J/R?) calls the BR leaving the baseline "desertion." |
|
|||
|
Yep, that's J/R applying the term "desertion" for the B/R.
__________________
"...a humble and contrite heart, O God, thou wilt not despise." - Ps li "The prompt and correct judgements of the honorable umpire elicited applause from the members of both clubs, and their thanks are tendered to him for the gentlemanly manner in which he acquitted himself of that onerous duty." - Niagara Indexensis, May 20th 1872 |
|
|||
|
The runner hasn't safely touched 1B before the 3rd out...no run. I don't understand the advantageous 4th out appeal here...that wouldn't be right would it?
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out! Ozzy |
|
|||
|
This might be a stupid question but what if BR keeps running and touches first base (either not realizing the third out has been made or whatever) after the tag on R2? Is the run still nullified because the touch was after the third out?
__________________
Throwing people out of a game is like riding a bike- once you get the hang of it, it can be a lot of fun.- Ron Luciano |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
well, you wouldn't have anything to appeal for the advantageous 4th out appeal. If BR reaches 1B, then, IMO you have a time play. Did the tag take place after R3 touched HP? If yes, count the run. If not, no run.
I still don't know if this sitch (OP) qualifies as an advantageous 4th out appeal. Since the 3rd out already happened, BR doesn't have an obligation to touch 1st does he?
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
|
|||
|
Quote:
If you say that the defense can appeal BR in this, then the flip side is that they would also have the choice not to. if that was the case, how exactly do you account for BR absent an appeal? He never reached first, yet was never put out. It is this contradiction that shows why this is not an appealable offense, but an automatic out. To take it a step further, let's say that we have the same situation in the OP, but with no one out. The play happens the same way (touch of home, tag of R2, BR gives up.) Now there is one out, and BR is sitting in the dugout. If we use your logic, and the defense appeals the out, then we have two out. What happens if a pitch is thrown instead? BR was never put out, but he's not on base. Do you go and get BR out of the dugout and put him on first? In short, desertion is an automatic out, not an appeal. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out! Ozzy |
|
|||
|
Don't call it an appeal
The fourth out may involve a missed base appeal. The B/R who misses a base allows for the possibility of a 4th out to be made on appeal by the defense. The fourth out resulting from a missed base appeal "force-out" often wipes off any runs scored during the playing action.
During a live ball, the 3rd out made on a timing play most often ends an inning. However in the OP, the 3rd out {a timing play} did not end this inning. The BR who never touched 1B allows the defense an opportunity to complete a legal inning ending double play. This advantageous fourth out wipes the run off the board.
__________________
SAump
Last edited by SAump; Sun Aug 03, 2008 at 01:56am. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| How would you score it? | WinterWillie | Softball | 10 | Wed Aug 29, 2007 11:28pm |
| Score the run? | NSump | Baseball | 6 | Sat Dec 24, 2005 01:51pm |
| O/T Score | ljudge | Football | 6 | Thu Nov 03, 2005 09:50am |
| How do you score this? | BigUmpJohn | Softball | 4 | Sun Jun 15, 2003 03:44pm |
| Does the run score? | 18597 | Softball | 4 | Sat Sep 07, 2002 09:03am |