![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Please explain your reasoning further. None of the examples in 6.05(m), or in the JEA cite this possiblity. Granted, as strict reading of the preface could be contrued this way, but when one reads further it is clear that the rule was written to get a double play. Also, wouldn't 7.08 apply to interference by a preceding runner and if so, that would cause him to be called out as well...no? 7.08 Any runner is out when- (b)He intentionally interferes with a thrown ball; or hinders a fielder attempting to make a play on a batted ball; |
|
|||
|
Ump153,
While I would be (at least among) the first to say that bobby knows more about this stuff than I do, I believe he has misspoken in this case. JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. |
|
|||
|
i just deleted my original post cuz i realized i was unclear in it due to alcohol consumption. i was trying to explain the differences between the 2 rules that were cited in the OP, and i said "only" where i shouldn't have then left out the damn rule difference i was trying to explain. should have done some proof reading before posting and going to bed. damn yuengling. anyway, sorry bout that. this is what my edited post would have looked like...
7.09(f) says they are both out if the interference is in an attempt to break up a double play. since the runner going to 2nd was already safe, there can no longer be a double play. 6.05(m) says that we are going to call the batter/runner out for the interference of a preceding runner, but only if he is attempting to break up a double play, which he was not cuz he was already called safe at 2B. R1 should have been called out for interference, and the b/r should have been awarded 1B.
__________________
"To dee chowers!!" Last edited by bobbybanaduck; Mon Jul 21, 2008 at 03:34pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. |
|
|||
|
I would call it this way:
If the INT occurs clearly AFTER R1 was safe (e.g., pop-up slide): then there's no DP, "Time, that's interference." R1 out on the INT, BR awarded 1B (it's an award because the ball is dead). If the INT occurs AS R1 reaches 2B or BEFORE (hands up, collision, etc.): then the INT is an attempt to break up the DP, "Time, that's interference" R1 and BR out. We usually see the latter scenario.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Now I know why they tell us not to drink 12 hours before our games. Or is it 24 hours? I forget.
__________________
Bob P. ----------------------- We are stewards of baseball. Our customers aren't schools or coaches or conferences. Our customer is the game itself. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
SLAS |
|
|||
|
What?
You're NOT supposed to drink before doing a game? Wish someone would have mentioned that a little sooner. JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
"To dee chowers!!" |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| batters interference/interference by teammate | _Bruno_ | Baseball | 7 | Mon Apr 07, 2008 07:28am |
| Runner interference versus umpire interference | Jay R | Baseball | 1 | Thu Apr 28, 2005 07:00pm |
| Interference? | DownTownTonyBrown | Softball | 17 | Mon Mar 31, 2003 06:22pm |
| interference | refjef40 | Softball | 12 | Fri Mar 21, 2003 09:31am |
| INTERFERENCE?? | IndianaUmpRef | Baseball | 13 | Fri Jun 07, 2002 07:39pm |