The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 05, 2008, 08:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Germantown, TN (east of Memphis)
Posts: 783
Missed base: opinions

I saw this play in an adult game played under NCAA rules. It got me thinking ...

PLAY #1: Bases loaded, 1 out. Grounder to F5. His throw short hops the catcher causing the ball to squirt away about 5 feet. R3 slides past and misses the plate. The runner attempts to crawl back to the plate but the catcher has retrieved the ball and he (the catcher) dives and tags the base with the ball before the runner could return.

RULING?

And this all made me think of another play ...

PLAY #2: R3, 2 outs. Batter hits a slow roller to F6. R3 was off on contact and there is no play on him at the plate. The throw to first is late but the BR misses the bag. The umpire rules him safe. But then, F3 with possession of the ball and his foot still on the bag says, "He missed the base."

Now what?

Does F3 have to tag the BR? In either case, does R3 score?

Would like to have some opinions on this. I don't really care about the NCAA ruling. You can answer it under any set of rules you like. I suspect they will all be the same anyway.

David Emerling
Memphis, TN
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 05, 2008, 09:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,219
Send a message via AIM to TussAgee11
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Emerling

PLAY #1: Bases loaded, 1 out. Grounder to F5. His throw short hops the catcher causing the ball to squirt away about 5 feet. R3 slides past and misses the plate. The runner attempts to crawl back to the plate but the catcher has retrieved the ball and he (the catcher) dives and tags the base with the ball before the runner could return.

RULING?

And this all made me think of another play ...

PLAY #2: R3, 2 outs. Batter hits a slow roller to F6. R3 was off on contact and there is no play on him at the plate. The throw to first is late but the BR misses the bag. The umpire rules him safe. But then, F3 with possession of the ball and his foot still on the bag says, "He missed the base."

Now what?

Does F3 have to tag the BR? In either case, does R3 score?
Play 1: Because the runner never abandoned the base path, this is all continuous action. By my reading of the book, the only thing I can say that supports this is that he is not out under any provisions made in the book. Perhaps others will have access to a caseplay... but if the runner got back to the plate before the tag was applied to him, he is safe. Now, if it was a force play, and the tag of the base was an appeal that he missed it, we have a different story... which is what you hint at in your second play.

Play 2: We have an out at first base by appeal... and the run doesn't count because the 3rd out was made on the B/R before he obtained first base...

Others can follow with casebook references... I'm going back to the NBA game
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 05, 2008, 09:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Germantown, TN (east of Memphis)
Posts: 783
Quote:
Originally Posted by TussAgee11
Play 1: Because the runner never abandoned the base path, this is all continuous action. By my reading of the book, the only thing I can say that supports this is that he is not out under any provisions made in the book. Perhaps others will have access to a caseplay... but if the runner got back to the plate before the tag was applied to him, he is safe.
So, you're saying that if the missed base was a force play, the runner can either be tagged OR the base touched - even if there is an ensuing scramble back to the base on the part of the runner?

Quote:
Now, if it was a force play,
And it was - the bases were loaded with one out.

Quote:
and the tag of the base was an appeal that he missed it, we have a different story... which is what you hint at in your second play.
Everything was continuous action. There was a sense of urgency on the part of both the catcher and runner. Both realized that he was not tagged and that the plate was not touched. The catcher chose to tag the base instead of the runner.

The umpires ruled the runner safe - claiming he needed to be tagged.

David Emerling
Memphis, TN
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 05, 2008, 10:02pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,790
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Emerling
I saw this play in an adult game played under NCAA rules. It got me thinking ...

PLAY #1: Bases loaded, 1 out. Grounder to F5. His throw short hops the catcher causing the ball to squirt away about 5 feet. R3 slides past and misses the plate. The runner attempts to crawl back to the plate but the catcher has retrieved the ball and he (the catcher) dives and tags the base with the ball before the runner could return.

RULING?

And this all made me think of another play ...

PLAY #2: R3, 2 outs. Batter hits a slow roller to F6. R3 was off on contact and there is no play on him at the plate. The throw to first is late but the BR misses the bag. The umpire rules him safe. But then, F3 with possession of the ball and his foot still on the bag says, "He missed the base."

Now what?

Does F3 have to tag the BR? In either case, does R3 score?

Would like to have some opinions on this. I don't really care about the NCAA ruling. You can answer it under any set of rules you like. I suspect they will all be the same anyway.

David Emerling
Memphis, TN
I usually don't answer without rules or other cites as backup, but I'm actually watching an NBA game for the first time in years (the Phillies played this afternoon):

In play 1, sliding past the plate removed the force. Unrelaxed action requires a tag on the runner trying to get back to the plate. Safe.

In play 2, the runner is out on the live ball appeal on the tag of the base. Since it's the BR and the third out at first base, no run scores.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 05, 2008, 10:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Germantown, TN (east of Memphis)
Posts: 783
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichMSN
In play 1, sliding past the plate removed the force. Unrelaxed action requires a tag on the runner trying to get back to the plate. Safe.

In play 2, the runner is out on the live ball appeal on the tag of the base. Since it's the BR and the third out at first base, no run scores.
I agree with your assessment in Play #1. That's what I've always been taught.

But, if you apply that philosophy to Play #2, would you say that if the BR quickly realized that he missed the base and had to quickly touch it that that would qualify as "unrelaxed" action, thus necessitating F3 tag him?

That's the reason I created Play #2, in anticipation of the answer to Play #1. Doesn't your ruling on Play #2 contradict your ruling in Play #1 if the BR attempts to immediately correct his mistake (i.e. unrelaxed action)?

David Emerling
Memphis, TN
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 05, 2008, 10:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 95
Appeals ARE timing plays
If play two is an appeal, it is a timing play
Which means run scores

If it isn't an appeal but an every day force play
The run doesn't score

Is it an appeal or not? That is the question
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 05, 2008, 10:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by btdt
Appeals ARE timing plays
If play two is an appeal, it is a timing play
Which means run scores

If it isn't an appeal but an every day force play
The run doesn't score

Is it an appeal or not? That is the question
It is an appeal, and the run does not score (see post #2).
The batter is never forced at 1st or any other base.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 05, 2008, 10:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Germantown, TN (east of Memphis)
Posts: 783
Quote:
Originally Posted by btdt
Appeals ARE timing plays
If play two is an appeal, it is a timing play
Which means run scores

If it isn't an appeal but an every day force play
The run doesn't score

Is it an appeal or not? That is the question
Appeals certainly are timing plays but, if the runner on whom a successful appeal is made was forced to that base, no run can score if it is the third out.

There are two aspects of play #2 that intrigue me, however. 1) Whether the run scores or not is important, for sure, 2) but I also want to resolve whether F3 has to tag the runner or not.

If the answer is, no - then how do you balance that with Play #1 where there seems to be a consensus that this forced runner must be tagged?

David Emerling
Memphis, TN
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 05, 2008, 11:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,219
Send a message via AIM to TussAgee11
David...

In your first post I over read the fact that the bases were loaded. That led me to believe that we had a tag play at the plate. From there, I assumed we never had "relaxed action"; I envisioned a play in which the runner, in an attempt to miss the tag, over slid the base and tried to scramble back in to the plate.

My apologies. Disregard it, I was thinking another sitch.

I'll agree with Rich on play 2 though. Pretty clear cut... a force is not removed on a missed base.

We debated a similar play 1 several weeks ago... in 2 separate threads - very in depth. Here is the link...

Appeal questions

and

(FED) Missing a base DOES NOT remove the force

These two threads confused me so much I won't even go into it... it is late.

Perhaps tomorrow I will dig through and construct a post with more rule references.

Tata...

Last edited by TussAgee11; Thu Jun 05, 2008 at 11:16pm.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 06, 2008, 12:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Germantown, TN (east of Memphis)
Posts: 783
Quote:
Originally Posted by TussAgee11
David...

In your first post I over read the fact that the bases were loaded. That led me to believe that we had a tag play at the plate. From there, I assumed we never had "relaxed action"; I envisioned a play in which the runner, in an attempt to miss the tag, over slid the base and tried to scramble back in to the plate.

My apologies. Disregard it, I was thinking another sitch.

I'll agree with Rich on play 2 though. Pretty clear cut... a force is not removed on a missed base.

We debated a similar play 1 several weeks ago... in 2 separate threads - very in depth. Here is the link...

Appeal questions

and

(FED) Missing a base DOES NOT remove the force

These two threads confused me so much I won't even go into it... it is late.

Perhaps tomorrow I will dig through and construct a post with more rule references.

Tata...
Thanks for the links to those discussions. Very instructive. But there wasn't much consensus there.

Now I have so many questions.

SITUATION: R3, 2 outs. Batter hits a slow roller to F6. R3 goes on contact and scores easily. The throw to F3 is late but the BR misses the bag as he goes flying by.

QUESTIONS:

#1: BR overruns the base and does not indicate by his actions that he has missed the base. Nonetheless, F3 keeps his foot on the base and tells the umpire "He missed the bag!"

Is the runner out on appeal?

Does the run count?

#2: Same as #1 accept the F3 tags the BR.

Is the runner out on appeal?

Does the run count?

* * * *

Also, I'm still not sure about my play where R3 (with the bases loaded) slides past home, missing it, and the catcher retrieves the loose ball and tags the plate while the runner is scrambling back to the plate.

Is the runner out on appeal?

* * * *

NEW PLAY: Bases loaded, 2 outs. A hard smash is hit toward F5. He dives and knocks the hot grounder down. The only possible play is on R2. But R2 beats any attempt to force him out but, as he slides by the bag, he completely misses it. F5 recovers the loose ball and tags the base before the runner, attempting to scramble back. can get back to the base.

Is the runner out?

Is this an appeal or a force?

Does the run count?

David Emerling
Memphis, TN
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 06, 2008, 05:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichMSN
I usually don't answer without rules or other cites as backup, but I'm actually watching an NBA game for the first time in years (the Phillies played this afternoon):

In play 1, sliding past the plate removed the force. Unrelaxed action requires a tag on the runner trying to get back to the plate. Safe.

In play 2, the runner is out on the live ball appeal on the tag of the base. Since it's the BR and the third out at first base, no run scores.
I agree.

The only caveat I have with play 1 is that the OP does not say whether the runner ever touched HP.

For play 2, although this is an appeal play, it is not a time play due to the language of OBR 4.09 (and parallel passages): no run shall score if the 3rd out is made by BR before acquiring 1B.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 08, 2008, 12:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Germantown, TN (east of Memphis)
Posts: 783
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron
I agree.

The only caveat I have with play 1 is that the OP does not say whether the runner ever touched HP.
The OP says, "R3 slides past and misses the plate."

My intent was to say that the runner never touched the plate.

David Emerling
Memphis, TN
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 07, 2008, 10:22pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichMSN
In play 1, sliding past the plate removed the force. Unrelaxed action requires a tag on the runner trying to get back to the plate. Safe.
Cite a rule or case play please.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 08, 2008, 10:04am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,790
Quote:
Originally Posted by DG
Cite a rule or case play please.
Pick up a Jaksa/Roder manual and read for yourself.

Passing a missed base always removes the (immediate) force based simply on the rulebook. However, that doesn't mean there isn't opportunity to appeal. If the runner is trying to return, he needs to be tagged.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 08, 2008, 10:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Germantown, TN (east of Memphis)
Posts: 783
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichMSN
Pick up a Jaksa/Roder manual and read for yourself.

Passing a missed base always removes the (immediate) force based simply on the rulebook. However, that doesn't mean there isn't opportunity to appeal. If the runner is trying to return, he needs to be tagged.
I have researched this and there is some disagreement on this.

Let's assume OBR:

On a force play, a runner overslides a base and never touches it. The runner is tagged out trying to scramble back to the base. The force play is removed once the runner "passed" the base, the tag was a time play. That means that any runs that scored in the interim - count!

Can the defense now make an appeal that the runner missed the base for an "advantageous fourth out" in order to nullify the run?

On that there is disagreement!

* * *

It seems to me, from what I could gather, that under FED and NCAA, in the same situation - the defense could tag the base while the runner is still attempting to scramble back and appeal that the base was missed and gain the out. It is unique to OBR that the runner must be tagged on a force play once they have passed (and missed) the base.

David Emerling
Memphis, TN

Last edited by David Emerling; Sun Jun 08, 2008 at 12:00pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Missed first base blueump Baseball 79 Thu May 17, 2007 12:54pm
HR, missed base Jay R Baseball 18 Tue May 13, 2003 02:38pm
Missed base Robert G Baseball 4 Mon Aug 20, 2001 12:31pm
Missed base Dakota Softball 13 Mon May 21, 2001 11:06am
Missed base David Van Milligen Baseball 14 Wed May 16, 2001 12:35pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:57pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1