The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 12, 2008, 08:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Newburgh NY
Posts: 1,822
Quote:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Illini_Ref
Now if a runner who is forced to second misses second and is diving back all the fielder needs to do is tag the bag correct. This is a force play and the play is not over as the runner never touched. Correct?
Although not mentioned in FED the terms "relaxed action" and "Unrelaxed action" aid an umpire in determining whether or not the fielder can simply touch the bag and make an appeal vs. tagging the runner which IMO I gather from your OP and posts that you are having trouble with.

Also, keep in mind that FED did away with the 'accidental appeal" 2-3 yrs. ago.

Generally speaking when action is "Un-Relaxed" ie; Runner scrambling back to the bag, the runner MUST be tagged in order to record the out.

When action is relaxed ie: R1 misses second base and is standing on third base. Then all the defense needs to do is tag the bag to record the out.

In addition the appeal does not have to be berbal but it MUST be an Unmistakable act. ie: one out R1. Hit and run and B1 hits a line shot right at F4 who simply flips to F3 to get the easy DP. That is an unmistakable act on the part of the defense to get R1.

Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 12, 2008, 09:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NeverNeverLand
Posts: 1,037
Just a thought.

If BR gets into a pickle between home and 1st, can 1st base be tagged for an out, or does the BR have to be tagged?
__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words".
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 12, 2008, 09:34am
rei
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by thumpferee
Just a thought.

If BR gets into a pickle between home and 1st, can 1st base be tagged for an out, or does the BR have to be tagged?
Surely you jest!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 13, 2008, 09:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Robinson, IL
Posts: 266
So....................let's say: Runner forced to second. Throw to second. Runner beats the throw and slides past and misses the base. He is scrambling back. He has to be tagged as the force was removed. Correct?

Now........ Runner forced to second. Throw goes to first and BR is safe. Runner has rounded second after missing second base. Runner stops and starts to return. Throw from first to second. Is the force still on? Is is different because the play wasn't initially at second? Runner still have to be tagged?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 13, 2008, 12:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
It's not that complicated. What is the fielder doing? If he's playing on the runner scrambling back, he must tag him. If he's appealing the missed base, all he needs to do is touch the base and say "he missed the base" (or otherwise make clear that it's an appeal).
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3rd out on appeal CecilOne Softball 39 Sat Jun 30, 2007 08:25pm
Appeal mach3 Softball 7 Wed Feb 25, 2004 09:30am
OBR Appeal tasoump Baseball 1 Tue Jul 02, 2002 02:39pm
Appeal Prince Baseball 3 Fri May 10, 2002 12:03pm
Out on Appeal ??? Bandit Softball 2 Thu Apr 25, 2002 09:28am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1